U-Pace Bios

Diane M. Reddy

Diane M. Reddy, Professor of Psychology and Director of the Center for Excellence in Teaching and Learning at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, is an innovator in higher education who has worked to increase success for all students. She developed with UWM Psychology Professor Ray Fleming the technology-enabled U-Pace instructional approach that has produced student success across disciplines and institutions (www.uwm.edu/upace/).

The U-Pace team, comprised of Diane, Ray, and Laura Pedrick, Special Assistant to the UWM Provost and Executive Director of UWM Online, was named to the Center for Digital Education’s list of Top 30 Technologists, Transformers, and Trailblazers in 2015. Their U-Pace instructional model has been recognized with a 2014 WCET Outstanding Work Award from the WICHE Cooperative for Educational Technologies, the 2013 Desire2EXCEL Impact Award from Desire2Learn, and the 2012 Distance Education Innovation Award from the National University Technology Network. With support from the U.S. Department of Education’s Fund for the Improvement of Postsecondary Education, Diane established with Tanya Joosten, UWM eLearning Research and Development Director, the National Research Center on Distance Education and Technological Advancements (DETA) (http://uwm.edu/deta/). Through research identifying effective learning practices and technologies, the DETA Research Center is increasing access and success in higher education.

Diane’s commitment to advancing evidence-based practices is also reflected in the funding she secured from the U.S. Department of Education’s Institute of Education Sciences to conduct a randomized controlled trial of U-Pace instruction, and from EDUCAUSE’s Next Generation Learning Challenges program to conduct a cross-institutional study of U-Pace instruction, and to disseminate this online instructional model. Diane is the recipient of seven awards for teaching excellence, including the 2015 Brightspace Innovation Award in Teaching and Learning, and the 2014 Online Learning Consortium Excellence in Online Teaching Award.

Raymond Fleming

Raymond Fleming, UWM Professor of Psychology developed the highly effective, technology-enabled U-Pace instructional approach with UWM Professor Diane M. Reddy, and directed the extensive evaluation studies of U-Pace. He is co-PI on the EDUCAUSE, Next Generation Learning Challenges funded project supported by the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation and the William and Flora Hewlett Foundation. Ray is also co-PI on the four-year randomized controlled study funded by the U.S. Department of Education, Institute of Education Sciences. He has published many widely cited scientific articles and has been responsible for the quantitative methods training of psychology doctoral students for over 20 years.

Laura E. Pedrick

Laura E. Pedrick, Special Assistant to the UWM Provost, oversees UWM’s online and blended programs, is Co-chair of the Online Program Council, and directs the seed funding for new online programs. Laura is the PI on the EDUCAUSE, Next Generation Learning Challenges project. She is co-PI on the University’s U.S. Department of Education, Institute of Education Sciences funded U-Pace research project and the University’s Sloan Foundation funded Blending Life and Learning initiative. Laura is also intimately involved in charting UWM’s digital future, planning for new technologies that will dramatically improve student learning and teaching, research and scholarship, and student services.