What is the Student Affairs/Enrollment Management Staff Development Committee?

The Student Affairs/Enrollment Management Staff Development Committee is responsible for professional development for the 2 divisions. The committee coordinates monthly professional development sessions on campus, commonly referred to as “4th Tuesday” as most events take place in the morning of the 4th Tuesday of each month. The committee also coordinates the STAR Awards (Staff That Are Remarkable), the division’s annual recognition ceremony.

Current Members

Colin Daly, New Student Programs (Admissions) – Co-Chair [Enrollment Management]                                                                              Kirstin DeMartino, Student Involvement – Co-Chair [Student Affairs]                                                                                                            Jen Steinheiser, Registrar (EM)
Huong Buddell, Financial Aid (EM)
Shelley Bugni, Student Affairs Divisional Office (SA/EM)
Barbara Wilson, Dean of Students (SA)
Jessica Kumke, Athletics (SA)
Mai Yer Yang, Inclusive Excellence Center (SA)
Josh Boehm, University Housing (SA)

If you’re interested in joining, please email staffdev-list@uwm.edu

2018-19 calendar

All programs in Sandburg Flicks unless otherwise noted.

November 27, 2018 – Cancelled
December 18, 2018 – Who are the 2-Year Students?
January 22, 2019 – Leadership Panel
February 26, 2019 – Inclusive Hiring Practices
March 26, 2019 – Graduate Student Showcase
April 23, 2019 – STAR Awards, Union Cinema (2nd Floor)
May 28, 2019 – Book Club (Dare to Lead by Brene Brown) & Creating Inclusive Meetings

Upcoming Program Information


Join us for a session on inclusive hiring practices for student and profession staff, with guest presenter, Warren Scherer.