University of Wisconsin–Milwaukee GRADUATE STUDENT FELLOWSHIPS COMMITTEE 2022-2023 Annual Report

Members:

| Name | Rank | Department | Term Ends |
|------------------------------|------------|------------------------------------|-----------|
| David DiValerio | FAC | History | 2025 |
| Gordon Gauchat | FAC | Sociology | 2025 |
| Colleen Janczewski | FAC | Social Work | 2025 |
| Ryan Newton | FAC | Freshwater Sciences | 2025 |
| | | | |
| Viktorija Bilić ¹ | FAC | Translation & Interpreting Studies | 2024 |
| Janis Eells | FAC | Biomedical Sciences 2024 | |
| Jeana Holt | FAC | Nursing | 2024 |
| Nathan Salowitz | FAC | Mechanical Engineering | 2024 |
| | | | |
| Sara Benesh, Chair | FAC | Political Science | 2023 |
| Dyanna Czeck | FAC | Geosciences 2023 | |
| Kundan Kishor ² | FAC | Economics | 2023 |
| Elana Levine | FAC | English | 2023 |
| | | | |
| Dana Baldwin | AS | Grad School Fellowship Coord. | 2023 |
| Bonita Klein-Tasman | Assoc Dean | n Graduate School 2023 | |
| | | | |
| Jolynn Woehrer | Student | Graduate Student | 2023 |

¹ Repl. K. May-Chu (2024-E)

Charter:

Functions/ Responsibilities:

A3.05.3 Graduate Student Fellowships Committee

The Graduate Student Fellowships Committee determines and manages the application and selection process for graduate students applying for internal fellowships such as the Distinguished Dissertation Fellowship and the Distinguished Graduate Student Fellowship. The committee also recommends general policy changes related to fellowships to the Graduate Faculty Committee.

(1) <u>Membership</u>

Fifteen (15) members as follows:

² Repl. S. Pucci (2023-A)³

³ Repl. B. Klein-Tasman (2023-E)

University of Wisconsin - Milwaukee Faculty Document No. 3473, October 19, 2023

- (a) Twelve (12) faculty elected from among the Graduate Faculty from the divisions of Arts and Humanities, Natural Sciences, Professions, and Social Sciences. Three members must be elected from each of these four divisions, and no more than one member may serve from any one department or non-departmentalized school or college. Faculty members are elected to staggered, three-year terms, and no member may serve more than two (2) consecutive terms or portions thereof. Elected members of the committee should reflect the range of disciplinary competencies in the university and represent the schools and colleges insofar as the size of the committee allows.
- (b) One (1) graduate student member appointed annually by the Student Association. Student members must be currently enrolled graduate students. Student members will not review fellowship applications or participate in closed meetings where applications are discussed.
- (c) The dean of the Graduate School, or designee, and fellowships coordinator of the Graduate School serve as ex-officio members.
- (d) The chair of the Graduate Student Fellowships Committee also serves on the Graduate Faculty Committee.
- (e) The Graduate Student Fellowships Committee will elect a chair from among its membership at its first meeting of each academic year.
- (f) The Graduate Student Fellowships Committee has the authority to declare vacant the seat of those committee members who fail to attend three (3) regular meetings in an academic year.

(2) Functions

- (a) Within the provisions of UWM regulations and practices, the committee formulates and implements procedures for allocation of available fellowship funds administered by the Graduate School. To this end, the committee annually establishes regular procedures that include but are not limited to application deadlines, nomination forms, review and selection procedures, and award announcements.
- (b) Following its designated application and selection procedures, the committee annually reviews applications and recommends fellowship awards for meritorious graduate students.
- (c) The committee makes recommendations to the Graduate Faculty Committee for general policy changes that relate to graduate fellowships across all programs. The committee may make such recommendations on its own initiative, at the request of the GFC, or at the request of the administration of the Graduate School.
- (d) On request of the administration of the Graduate School, the committee may assist in the assignment of other graduate student financial support awards.

(Document 2563, 3/15/07; UWM Administration approval, 5/11/07) (Editorially revised, 6/30/08) (Document 2780, 4/21/11; UWM Administration approval, 5/2/11) (Document 3180, 9/20/18; UWM Administration approval, 10/12/18)

Meetings:

- A. The Committee met four times during the 2022-23 academic year:
 - a. September 23, 2022
 - b. December 15, 2022
 - c. February 24, 2023
 - d. April 17, 2023
- B. The Committee reviewed and rated Distinguished Dissertation Fellowship (DDF) and Distinguished Graduate Student Fellowship (DGSF) applications, and selected award recipients for the 2023-24 academic year. The Committee awarded a total of 18 DDF and 18 DGSF.
- C. Nominations received and fellowships awarded:

| | Nominations Received | | <u>Fellowships Awarded</u> | |
|----|----------------------|----|----------------------------|--|
| a. | DDF | 44 | 18 | |
| b. | DGSF | 49 | 18 | |

D. List of 2023-24 Graduate Fellowship Recipients

Distinguished Dissertation Fellowship (DDF) Awards

| DDF Fellowship Offers | Graduate Program/Concentration |
|--------------------------|---|
| 1. Anderson, Zachariah | English PhD - Media, Cinema, and Digital Studies |
| 2. Andriantomanga, Zo | Economics PhD |
| 3. Aqel, Rawan Ibrahim | Engineering PhD - Civil Engineering |
| 4. Beamish, Sarah | Psychology PhD - Neuroscience |
| 5. Feagles, Olivia | Biological Sciences PhD |
| 6. Fleischer, Aaron | Psychology PhD - Neuroscience |
| 7. Florez Garcia, Victor | Environmental Health Sciences PhD |
| 8. Herdt, Megan | Educational Psychology PhD |
| 9. McConnell, Brian | Anthropology PhD |
| 10. Pfost, Doreen | English PhD - Creative Writing |
| 11. Saxon, Eron | Chemistry PhD |
| 12. Schneider, Natalie | Management Science PhD |
| 13. Shelburne, Edward | Geosciences PhD |
| 14. Stinson, Ashley | Psychology PhD - Clinical Psychology |
| 15. Thurgood, John | English PhD - Creative Writing |
| 16. Valsan, Vinaya | Physics PhD |
| 17. Williams, Meredith | Public Health PhD - Community and Behavioral Health |
| | Promotion |
| 18. Yang, Li | Information Studies PhD |

Distinguished Graduate Student Fellowships (DGSF) Awards

| DGSF Fellowship Offers | Graduate Program/Concentration | | |
|---------------------------|--|--|--|
| 1. Acenowr, Cohley | Psychology PhD - Clinical Psychology | | |
| 2. Anumarlapudi, Akash | Physics PhD | | |
| 3. Borchardt, Susan | Freshwater Sciences & Technology MS - Thesis Track | | |
| 4. Cooper, Matthew | English PhD - Media, Cinema, and Digital Studies | | |
| 5. Ezema, Gabriel | Educational Psychology PhD | | |
| 6. Fuddah, Aisha | Linguistics PhD | | |
| 7. Heng, Rui Ying Lynette | Philosophy MA | | |
| 8. Kimura, Kana | Psychology PhD - Neuroscience | | |
| 9. Liggan, Lauran | Biological Sciences PhD | | |
| 10. Noe, Luise | English PhD - Literature and Cultural Theory | | |
| 11. Pritchard, Jamee | African and African Diaspora Studies PhD | | |
| 12. Rahman, Md Mahbubur | Engineering PhD - Mechanical Engineering | | |
| 13. Shahria, Md Tanzil | Engineering PhD - Computer Science | | |
| 14. Skadson, Eric | Art MFA | | |
| 15. Tavassoli, Nahid | Economics PhD | | |
| 16. Voras-Hills, Angela | English PhD - Creative Writing | | |
| 17. Wang, Ziyun | Psychology PhD - Clinical Psychology | | |
| 18. Weiss, Henry | Philosophy MA | | |