

Division of Social Sciences Executive Committee

LUBAR N450 414 229-5988 phone 414 229-5198 fax

DATE: May 2023

TO: All Members of the Division of Social Sciences
FROM: Division of Social Sciences Executive Committee

RE: Criteria and Guidelines for Tenure or Promotion

The 2022-23 Divisions of Social Sciences Annual Report; the latest versions of the Criteria and Guidelines for Departmental Recommendations for Promotion to Professor in the Social Sciences; the Criteria and Guidelines for Departmental Recommendations for Tenure Appointments in the Social Sciences; and a sample letter that departments may use in drafting requests for outside reviews of candidates are available at: https://wwm.edu/secu/faculty/divisional/ss/. Please read them carefully.

Dean's recommendations for all promotions to associate professor with tenure are due in the Vice Chancellor's Office in early March each year. The Executive Committee of the Division of Social Sciences will prioritize reviews involving tenure before those involving promotion (e.g. promotion from associate to full professor). Promotions of already tenured faculty taking place past the deadline will be submitted to UWS as out of cycle approval requests. This will take place in time for the 2024-25 budget year. For deadline information, please see:

https://uwm.edu/academicaffairs/facultystaff/policies/personnel-actions/.

Case managers are reminded to submit materials to the appropriate dean about two weeks before the committee is scheduled to meet. This will provide the committee with adequate time to examine the case and to secure alternate members if necessary.

The committee abides by the provisions of Sec. 19.85 Wis. Stats., the Wisconsin State Open Meeting law, and Chapter 3.14(3), *UWM Policies and Procedures*. Accordingly, anyone whose case comes before the committee who wishes to have an open meeting should notify the Division of Social Sciences Executive Committee Office at (414) 229-5998.

Please note the following in the criteria:

- 1) an observer, who may not contribute to the deliberations, from the departmental executive committee is encouraged at the closed meetings on tenure or promotion cases;
- the evidence of teaching section (#6) requires the submission of materials on student and peer evaluation of teaching and of information on the average grade given in each course being evaluated;
- 3) the procedure for handling letters of evaluation by outside reviewers, and the requirement for a curriculum vitae or its equivalent for each reviewer (on pages 5 and 10 of the document); and
- 4) departments are required to provide information regarding co-authorship and the time period in which each candidate's scholarly works were completed, as indicated in Sections 3 and 5.

Please note that these criteria apply equally to external hires as well as internal candidates.

Also, note the procedure to be followed by departments or schools initiating reconsideration on behalf of a colleague receiving a negative vote on the motion to promote and/or tenure. The department/ school has the right to request reconsideration of the decision within ten (10) working days of the date of the divisional committee's vote. The candidate's chair must call for an official meeting of the unit's executive committee to determine if there is adequate support for reconsideration. The vote in support of reconsideration is to be conveyed to the Division of Social Sciences Executive Committee Office as part of the statement requesting an additional hearing. Finally, the committee will attempt to augment the Subcommittee of Full Professors of the Executive Committee to five members through the use of alternates whenever possible.

The committee chair is available to meet with case managers to review procedures before the start of a case and to review files prior to transmittal to the appropriate dean. The 2023-24 Chair is Professor Kundan Kishor.

The schedule of meetings for 2023-24 will be available after the first meeting of Fall semester is held. The dates will be posted at https://uwm.edu/secu/faculty/divisional/ss/.

2023-24 Division of Professions Executive Committee

Assoc. Professor Noelle Chesley	Sociology	2024
Professor Kundan Kishor (Chair)	Economics	2024
Assoc. Professor Shawn Cahill	Psychology	2025
Assoc. Professor Ioannis Floros	Finance	2025
Assoc. Professor Sarah Riforgiate	Communication	2025
Assoc. Professor Benjamin Campbell	Anthropology	2026
Professor Natasha Sugiyama	Political Science	2026