

Division of Natural Sciences Executive Committee

LUBAR N450 (414) 229-5996 phone

MEMORANDUM

DATE:May 2023TO:Faculty of the Division of Natural Sciences
Deans, Associate Deans, Division Heads and Department Chairs of Schools and Colleges
with Natural Sciences Divisional Affiliation

FROM:Professor Jeffrey Karron, 2022-23 ChairDivision of the Natural Sciences Executive Committee

SUBJECT: Criteria and Guidelines for Tenure and Promotion

The 2022-23 Annual Report and the latest version of the criteria and guidelines for deliberations on promotion to or appointment as tenured Associate Professor, or full Professor in the Division of Natural Sciences are available at: <u>https://uwm.edu/secu/faculty/divisional/ns/</u>. If the departmental promotion criteria differ substantially from those of the Division of Natural Sciences Executive Committee, then rationale for the use of the department criteria must be included in the promotion documents.

The Division of Natural Sciences Executive Committee requires electronic submission of all materials in two portable document format (pdf) files, one to include primary material (Sections II through VI and VIII, IX and X of the criteria) and another with the appendix material (Sections I and VII of the criteria and the Dean's transmittal letter). **The provided template in the criteria document must be followed, and NO "hard copy" is required.** Please note, the evaluation letters, collection of sample publications and any other large page number material submitted on behalf of the candidate will be included in the appendix document. To assist with ensuring the file is complete and completed in the requested format, departments should refer to the checklist posted at: https://wwm.edu/secu/faculty/divisional/ns/. Note that the criteria for promotion to Full Professor are different from the tenure criteria, including expectations for external funding and establishing an international reputation (as evidenced by letters from international reviewers).

The Committee abides by the Open Meeting provisions of Wis. Stats., Section 19.85 and 3.14(3) of the UWM Policies and Procedures. When submitting documents to the divisional executive committee for tenure or promotion, candidates should include a signed statement indicating whether the divisional committee meeting is to be open or closed.

2023-24 Division of Natural Sciences Executive Committee

Associate Professor Alison Donnelly	Geography	L&S	2025
Professor Peter Hinow	Mathematical Sciences	L&S	2024
Professor John Isbell	Geosciences	L&S	2025
Professor Shama Mirza	Chemistry & Biochemistry	L&S	2026
Professor Deyang Qu	Mechanical Engineering	CEAS	2024
Professor Valerică Raicu	Physics	L&S	2024
Professor Erica Young	Biological Sciences	L&S	2026