University of Wisconsin–Milwaukee NOMINATIONS COMMITTEE 2021-2022 Annual Report

Members:

					Term
Name	Rank	Department	Div	E/A	Ends
Devendra Misra, Chair	FAC	Biomedical Engineering	NS	E	2024
Tami Williams	FAC	English	AH	Е	2024
Teresa Schueller	FAC	Math & Natural Sciences	GS	Е	2023
Celeste Campos-Castillo	FAC	Sociology	SS	Е	2022
Aki Roberts	FAC	Sociology	SS	Е	2022
James (Dimitri) Topitzes ¹	FAC	Social Work	PR	Е	2022
Hanh Trinh	FAC	Health Informatics & Admin.	PR	Е	2022
John Reisel	FAC	Secretary of the University	х-о	0	2022

- 1 Repl. I. Xie spring 2022 sabbatical (2023-E)
- x-o Ex-officio
- o Serves by virtue of office

Charter:

Functions/ Responsibilities:

A3.5 Nominations Committee

(1) <u>Membership</u>. Eight members as follows: seven faculty members, no more than four of whom are from a single school or college, to be nominated using the same nomination and election procedures that are used for other faculty standing committees. The Secretary of the University serves ex-officio. The elected members serve three-year staggered terms.

(Document 3146, 04/19/18; UWM Administration approval, 5/18/18)

(2) <u>Functions</u>

- a) Nominates candidates for all positions to be filled by faculty election.
- b) Advises the Chancellor on appointive faculty positions and on such other faculty appointive positions as the Chancellor may request.

(3) Procedures

- a) The Secretary of the University circulates a questionnaire to the faculty not later than the second regular faculty meeting, which shows the names of all faculty committees and all other elected and appointed positions, and requests the faculty members to indicate first, second and third choices of such positions in which they are willing to serve if elected or appointed. The committee is authorized to solicit appropriate biographical data as prescribed by the committee.
- b) The Committee then prepares a slate of nominees to be distributed with the calendar of the March Faculty Senate meeting, where it is the first item of business. The committee nominates at least two candidates for each vacancy. Additional nominations may be made viva voce from the floor of the meeting. Other nominations, sponsored by three faculty members, may be made, prior to the meeting, by submitting the names of the nominees to the Secretary of the University.
- c) Immediately following the meeting, the Secretary of the University prepares an electronic ballot to be distributed to all members of the faculty. Accompanying the ballot will be a brief biographical statement of the candidates.

```
(Document 1016, 3/17/77; UWM Administration approval, 3/30/77) (Document 1679, 9/21/89; UWM Administration approval, 10/6/89) (Document 2510, 10/20/05; UWM Administration approval, 12/02/05)
```

Meetings:

- 1. The following actions were taken at the first meeting of the Nomination Committee that was held on September 2, 2021.
- Dev Misra was elected Chair for year 2021-2022.
- Committee charter and preference sheet were reviewed.
- Nomination and election timelines were reviewed and approved.
- 2. The Committee met again on February 11, 2022, to select candidates for year 2022 2023 standing committee elections. Chair was delegated to recommend candidates for ARPC, URC, and the Faculty Senate Parliamentarian to the Chancellor.