## University of Wisconsin–Milwaukee HONORARY DEGREES COMMITTEE 2021-2022 Annual Report

### **Members**:

| Name                          | Rank    | Department   | Div | E/A | Term<br>Ends |
|-------------------------------|---------|--|-----|-----|--------------|
| Greg Flint                    | FAC     | Music  | AH  | A   | 2024         |
| Jonathan Kahl                 | FAC     | Mathematical Sciences                                    | NS  | Е   | 2024         |
| Jae Yung Song                 | FAC     | Linguistics  | SS  | Е   | 2024         |
| Virgina Stoffel, Chair        | FAC     | Rehabilitation Sciences & Technology                     | PR  | Е   | 2024         |
| Swapnil Tripathi <sup>1</sup> | FAC     | Mathematics & Natural Sciences                           | GS  | A   | 2024         |
| Susana Antunes                | FAC     | Spanish and Portuguese                                   | AH  | A   | 2023         |
| Amy Olen                      | FAC     | Translation  | AH  | E   | 2023         |
| Danielle Romain Dagenhardt    | FAC     | Criminology  | PR  | E   | 2023         |
| Erin Ruppel                   | FAC     | Communication  | SS  | E   | 2023         |
| Jessica Schuld                | AS      | Office of Research                                       | -   | A   | 2023         |
| Madhusudan Dey                | FAC     | Biological Sciences                                      | NS  | Е   | 2022         |
| Lauren Fleck                  | AS      | Honors College   | -   | A   | 2022         |
| Christy Greenleaf             | FAC     | Kinesiology  | PR  | E   | 2022         |
| Lori Klos                     | FAC     | Kinesiology  | PR  | A   | 2022         |
| Phillip Owens                 | FAC     | Mathematics & Natural Sciences                           | GS  | Е   | 2022         |
| Joan Nesbitt                  | VC      | Development & Alumni Relations(Chancellor Rep)           | х-о | 0   | 2022         |
| Anny Morrobel-Sosa            | VP      | Vice President of Academic and Student Affairs (UWS Rep) | х-о | 0   | 2022         |
| <>                            | Student | Undergrad  |     |     | 2022         |
| <>                            | Student | Grad   |     |     | 2022         |

- <> Yet to be appointed
- x-o Ex-officio
- o Serves by virtue of office

Students (2)-1G, 1UG

1 No candidates from elections 2021-22

#### **Charter:**

# **Functions/ Responsibilities:**

### **A3.1 Honorary Degrees Committee**

(1) <u>Membership</u>. Nineteen members as follows: Ten elected faculty members; three appointed Faculty members; two academic staff from the Division of Academic Affairs appointed by the Academic Staff Committee; one graduate student and one undergraduate student; two ex-officio

members. Each of the five faculty divisions is represented by at least two elected members. Appointed Faculty members are selected by the University Committee. Ex-officio members are the President of the University System, and the Chancellor of the University of Wisconsin B Milwaukee or his/her designee. The chairperson of the committee is designated by the Chancellor of the University of Wisconsin - Milwaukee.

(Document 3214, 11/15/18; UWM Administration approval, 11/21/18)

### (2) Functions

- a) Considers and recommends candidates for honorary degrees in accordance with the following procedure. During the spring semester, the Chairperson of the Honorary Degrees Committee shall transmit to the deans, directors and the chairpersons of the several divisions, centers, schools, colleges and departments, invitations for submission to the committee of names of persons to be considered for honorary degrees. A list of previous recipients is to be attached to the call for nominations. At least one-half of those presented as candidates for honorary degrees should have some connection with the University system, the City or the State. The Committee shall present its report and recommendation at a meeting of the University Faculty or Faculty Senate in accordance with the provisions of 1.04(8). A two-thirds affirmative vote of those present and voting at the Faculty meeting or Faculty Senate meeting shall be required to nominate a candidate for an Honorary Degree.
- b) Considers and recommends candidates to be honored on the Ernest Spaights Plaza marker. During the fall semester, the Chairperson of the Honorary Degrees Committee shall issue to the UWM community a call for submission to the Committee the names of persons to be considered for nominations. The Committee shall meet in the spring semester to select candidates for recommendation to the Chancellor.
- c) Considers and recommends, in consultation with the University Committee, candidates for a citation for distinguished service or significant contributions to the University of Wisconsin B Milwaukee. The award is given by the Chancellor.

```
(Document 1016, 3/17/77; UWM Administration approval, 3/30/77) (Document 1079, 3/21/78; UWM Administration approval, 3/28/78) (Document 1275, 5/14/81; UWM Administration approval, 5/21/81) (Editorially revised by Codification Committee, 1/12/87, per Faculty Document 904) (Document 1619, 5/10/88; UWM Administration approval, 9/22/88) (Editorially revised, 5/13/92)
```

(Document 2082, 1/23/97; UWM Administration approval, 2/7/97) (Doc. 2718amended, 05/13/10; UWM Administration approval, 6/2/10)

#### **Meetings**:

During the 2021-2011 academic year, the Honorary Degrees Committee met twice, on November 30, 2021 and April 19, 2022. In November, the committee reviewed the committee charter and criteria for honorary degrees, as well as reviewed the call for the Spaights Plaza nominations. Due to a backlog of approved honorary degrees and the changes in graduation format due to COVID, the May 2022 graduation will feature those approved in 2019 and 2020 (Willem Dafoe, Mary V. Alfred, Judy Murphy, Kevin Shafer and Noble Wray). In 2021, no call for nominations occurred. Nominations are expected to be considered again in Fall 2022.

At the April 19, 2022 meeting the committee considered all nominees for the Fall 2022 Spaights Plaza Award and met with their nominators for questions related to information about each nominee. The following individuals were recommended to the Chancellor as Spaights Plaza Awardees: Dennis Bennett, Ed Burgess, Randall Lambrecht, Ron Perez, Ruth Schwertfeger, William Velez, and David Yu. On May 3, 2022 Chancellor Mone confirmed that all those recommended would be honored as Spaights Plaza Awardees in Fall 2022.

The committee set September 23, 2022 as the due date for honorary degree nominations for the 2023 commencement ceremony.

Respectfully, Ginny Stoffel, 2021-2022 Chair, Honorary Degrees Committee