## University Staff Nominations Committee

June 3, 2022

Via Teams

## **MINUTES**

Present: M. Cosgrove, K. Czerniakowski, G. Henion, C. Warneke, S. Wirka

Absent: R. Sauers

- I. Call to Order-The meeting was called to order at 9:32 a.m.
- II. Approval of Minutes from November Meeting-The minutes were approved by Autoconsent
- III. Appointment to 2030 committee-The committee discussed several candidates to replace A. Tarr. K. Heath who is supporting this committee did provide some information to the committee on what the candidate qualifications should be. The Committee unanimously approved three candidates in order which were 1. Kate Valerius, 2. Rose Sauers and 3. Jake Azinger. Chair G. Henion will reach out to the candidates to see if they are able to serve and then forward the name of the appointee to K. Heath.
- IV. Appointment to US Layoff committee to replace A. Tarr. The committee discussed several candidates to replace A. Tarr. They unanimously picked M. Cosgrove to replace A. Tarr. R. Sauers was seconded. If the committee has a case the Layoff committee will be set. C. Warneke pointed out that A. McLimans is no longer University Staff and will also need to be replaced. As his position is open to ANY category both candidates will be able to be appointed.
- V. Appointment to US Senate to replace A. Tarr and open position on US Senate-see below item VI.
- VI. Discuss US Elections and committee nominations-The committee discussed how the Elections and Nominations process will proceed going forward. There are still two open positions on the Senate. L. Eastman will ask the Secretary of the University's office how open positions are handled for Faculty and Academic Staff. Special Elections could be held, Nominations could be requested from the floor, Other options could be discussed with the senate. Would a reduction in the Senate be an option? G. Henion will discuss at the next Senate meeting in June.
- VII. Meeting schedule for Summer 2022-L. Eastman will send a meeting request out to members after July 1 to see their availability.
- VIII. Elect chair for 2022-2023-G. Henion will be leaving the committee. M. Cosgrove was elected Chair for 22-23 and will call the next meeting.
- IX. New or Other Business-There was no other business.
- X. Adjournment-The meeting was adjourned at 10:22 a.m.