

Division of the Social Sciences *Executive Committee*

LUB N450 P O Box 413 Milwaukee, WI 53201-0413 414 229-5998 414 229-5198 fax

Division of Social Sciences 2021-22 Annual Report

DATE: May 2022

TO Faculty of the Division of Social Sciences

FROM: Kundan Kishor, Chair

Division of Social Sciences Executive Committee

RE: 2021-22 Annual Report

In accordance with Sections 3.07, 3.15(2) and 6.12 of the *UWM Policies and Procedures*, I submit to you a report of the activities of the Executive Committee of the Division of Social Sciences.

I. MEMBERSHIP

A. 2020-21 Executive Committee

Assoc. Professor Noelle Chesley	Sociology	2024
Professor Kundan Kishor	Economics	2024
Assoc. Professor Sara Benesh	Political Science	2023
Assoc. Professor Anna Pycha	Linguistics	2023
Professor Robert Jeske	Anthropology	2022
Assoc. Professor Gladys Mitchell-Walthour	African & African Diaspora Studies	2022
Assoc. Professor Zengwang Xu	Geography	2022

2021-22 Alternate Members

No alternate members needed for 2021-22.

B. 2022-23 Executive Committee

Ioannis Floros	Business	2025
Sarah Riforgiate	Communication	2025
Assoc. Professor Noelle Chesley	Sociology	2024
Professor Kundan Kishor	Economics	2024
Assoc. Professor Sara Benesh	Political Science	2023
Assoc. Professor Anna Pycha	Linguistics	2023
<member appointed="" be="" to="" yet=""></member>		2023

C. Social Sciences Alternate Members

Persons eligible to serve as alternate members. The year listed indicates how long, according to the five-year rule, they will remain eligible.

Professor Robert Jeske	Anthropology	2027
Assoc. Gladys Mitchell-Walthour	African & African Diaspora Studies	2027
Assoc. Professor Zengwang Xu	Geography	2027
Assoc. Professor Shawn Cahill	Psychology	2026
Assoc. Professor Erin Parcell	Communication	2026
Professor Thomas Holbrook	Political Science	2025
Professor Sunwoong Kim	Economics	2025
Professor Aneesh Aneesh	Sociology	2024
Professor Sanjoy Ghose	Business	2024
Professor Joseph Gray	Anthropology	2024
Associate Professor Woonsup Choi	Geography	2023
Professor Karyn Frick	Psychology	2023
Professor Thomas Malaby	Anthropology	2023

II. COMMITTEE ACTIVITIES

The Divisional Executive Committees are charged with rendering promotion, appointment and post-tenure review advice to the deans of the UWM schools or colleges in accordance with UWM Policy & Procedures-Chapter 3, Faculty Divisional Systems. The Committee scheduled five (5) meetings for the 2020-21 academic year to consider personnel matters:

Fall 2021: September 7, October 12, and December 7, 2021

Spring 2022: March 3, and May 5, 2022

III. RECOMMENDATION ON PERSONNEL CASES

Α.	Recommendations by the Entire Executive Committee	<u>Positive</u>	<u>Negative</u>	<u>Total</u>
	Promotion to the rank of Associate Professor with Tenure	0	0	0
	Appointment to the rank of Associate Professor with Tenure	0	0	0
В.	Recommendations by the Subcommittee of Full Professors	<u>Positive</u>	<u>Negative</u>	<u>Total</u>
	Promotion to the rank of Professor	0	1	1
	Appointment to the rank of Professor with Tenure	0	0	0
C.	Total Recommendations Forwarded	Positive 0	<u>Negative</u> 0	<u>Total</u> 0
D.	Other Committee Business - Request to change Divisional Affiliation	Positive 1	Negative 0	Total 1

V. POST-TENURE REVIEW (PTR) RECOMMENDATIONS

Total PTR Recommendations Forwarded: Positive Negative Total 0 0 0

VI. CRITERIA

There were no revisions to the Social Sciences Criteria for Procedures and Evaluative Criteria for Reviewing Departmental Recommendations for Appointment to Tenure and/or Promotion document.

VII. POST-TENURE REVIEW CRITERIA

There were no revisions to the Division of Social Sciences *Procedures for Responding to Negative Post-Tenure Review* and the *Checklist for Post-Tenure Review Files to be Submitted for Review* document.