The University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee **AWARDS AND RECOGNITIONS COMMITTEE**

Friday, February 25, 2022, 8:00am Central Standard Time - TEAMS *Minutes*

- I. Call to Order at 8:00am. Present: Sarah Riforgiate, Simone Linhares Ferro, Jeana Holt, Jonathan D. Kahl, Swapnil Tripathi and Gabriel Rei-Doval.
- II. Approval of Minutes of the November 1, 2021 Meeting by consent

III. New Business

- A. Moved into closed session Jonathan Kahl moved, Swapnil Tripathi seconded.
- B. Teaching awards were discussed. Each nominee was considered based on their nomination packet (nomination/recommendation letters, CV), subsequent syllabus and class materials provided by nominees, and the teaching observations by at least three committee members. Four nominees were recommended for the award to Chancellor Mone (three awards had been granted in past years).
- C. Sarah Riforgiate agreed to write the committee's recommendation to Chancellor Mone and circulate the proposal to seek edits before forwarding to the Secretary of the University and Chancellor Mone.
- D. April 21st at 4:30pm was selected for the next committee meeting to discuss the UWM Distinguished University Service Award and the UWM Distinguished University Public Service Award (Deadline April 1, 2022).
- IV. Meeting adjourned at 8:45am

The Committee may go into closed session to consider personnel matters pursuant to: Wis. Stat. sec 19.85(1) (c), (f)