University of Wisconsin–Milwaukee HONORARY DEGREES COMMITTEE 2019-2020 Annual Report

Members:

Name	Rank	Department	Term Ends
Madhusudan Dey	FAC	Biological Sciences	2022
Lauren Fleck	AS	Honors College	2022
Christy Greenleaf	FAC	Kinesiology	2022
Lori Klos	FAC	Kinesiology	2022
Phillip Owens	FAC	Mathematics & Natural Sciences	2022
Anne Bonds	FAC	Geography	2021
Seyed Hosseini	FAC	Elec Engr and Computer Sci	2021
Kevin Lee	FAC	Mathemeatics & Natural Sciences	2021
Simone Linhares Ferro	FAC	Dance	2021
Kalman Applbaum	FAC	Anthropology	2020
Kimberly Hassell ¹	FAC	Criminal Justice & Criminology	2020
Richard Marcus ²	FAC	Lubar School of Business	2020
Aims McGuinness	FAC	History	2020
Connie Schroeder ³	AS	Center for Excellence in Teaching & Learning	2020
Virginia Stoffel, Chair	FAC	Occupational Science & Technology	2020
Patricia Borger	VC	Development & Alumni Rel.(Chancellor Rep)	2020
Ray Cross	Pres	UW System President	2020
<>	Student	Undergrad	2020
<>	Student	Grad	2020

1 Repl. C. Ferreira spring 2020 sabbat (2021-A)

2 Repl. A. Blair (2020-A)

3 Repl. J. Padway (2020-A)

<> Yet to be appointed

<u>Charter</u>: Functions/ Responsibilities:

A3.1 Honorary Degrees Committee

(1) <u>Membership</u>. Nineteen members as follows: Ten elected faculty members; three appointed Faculty members; two academic staff from the Division of Academic Affairs appointed by the Academic Staff Committee; one graduate student and one undergraduate student; two ex-officio University of Wisconsin - Milwaukee Faculty Document No. 3297, September 17, 2020

members. Each of the five faculty divisions is represented by at least two elected members. Appointed Faculty members are selected by the University Committee. Ex-officio members are the President of the University System, and the Chancellor of the University of Wisconsin B Milwaukee or his/her designee. The chairperson of the committee is designated by the Chancellor of the University of Wisconsin - Milwaukee.

(Document 3214, 11/15/18; UWM Administration approval, 11/21/18)

- (2) <u>Functions</u>
 - a) Considers and recommends candidates for honorary degrees in accordance with the following procedure. During the spring semester, the Chairperson of the Honorary Degrees Committee shall transmit to the deans, directors and the chairpersons of the several divisions, centers, schools, colleges and departments, invitations for submission to the committee of names of persons to be considered for honorary degrees. A list of previous recipients is to be attached to the call for nominations. At least one-half of those presented as candidates for honorary degrees should have some connection with the University system, the City or the State. The Committee shall present its report and recommendation at a meeting of the University Faculty or Faculty Senate in accordance with the provisions of 1.04(8). A two-thirds affirmative vote of those present and voting at the Faculty meeting or Faculty Senate meeting shall be required to nominate a candidate for an Honorary Degree.
 - b) Considers and recommends candidates to be honored on the Ernest Spaights Plaza marker. During the fall semester, the Chairperson of the Honorary Degrees Committee shall issue to the UWM community a call for submission to the Committee the names of persons to be considered for nominations. The Committee shall meet in the spring semester to select candidates for recommendation to the Chancellor.
 - c) Considers and recommends, in consultation with the University Committee, candidates for a citation for distinguished service or significant contributions to the University of Wisconsin B Milwaukee. The award is given by the Chancellor.

(Document 1016, 3/17/77; UWM Administration approval, 3/30/77)
(Document 1079, 3/21/78; UWM Administration approval, 3/28/78)
(Document 1275, 5/14/81; UWM Administration approval, 5/21/81)
(Editorially revised by Codification Committee, 1/12/87, per Faculty Document 904)
(Document 1619, 5/10/88; UWM Administration approval, 9/22/88)
(Editorially revised, 5/13/92)
(Document 2082, 1/23/97; UWM Administration approval, 2/7/97)
(Doc. 2718amended, 05/13/10; UWM Administration approval, 6/2/10)

Meetings:

During 2019-2020 the Honorary Degrees Committee met a total of 4 times: October 7, 2019; October 15, 2019; April 29, 2020 and May 7, 2020 to carry out the business of the committee with Virginia Stoffel serving as chair. New members were oriented to their positions in early October and all reviewed and deliberated on

nominees for the UWM Honorary Doctorate. After recommendations by the committee and review by the Chancellor and Faculty Senate, the Board of Regents approved 4 people to receive the honorary doctorate at upcoming 2020 commencement ceremonies. Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, all other meetings occurred using Teams. In April 2020, the committee reviewed nominees for the Spaights Plaza and they sent recommendations to the Chancellor for Fall 2020 Awards Ceremony. A total of 3 former faculty and staff will be named as Spaights Plaza awardees. At the last meeting in May 2020, the criteria were reviewed, dates set and announcements prepared for the September 25, 2020 deadline for 2021 Honorary Degrees nominations.

The Chair recognized the outgoing committee members (Applbaum, Hassell, Marcus, McGuinness, and Schroeder) and thanked them for their service. Staff from the Secretary of the University's office (Christine Roberson and Tammy Howard) were thanked for their support of the committee's activities.

Respectfully submitted,

Virginia Stoffel, Chair, 2017-2020, Honorary Degrees Committee