UNIVERSITY of WISCONSIN



Division of the Social Sciences Executive Committee

# Division of Social Sciences 2019-20 Annual Report

LUB N450 P O Box 413 Milwaukee, WI 53201-0413 414 229-5998 414 229-5198 fax

2023

2023

2022

2022

2022

2021

2021

- DATE: May 2020
- **TO** Faculty of the Division of Social Sciences
- **FROM:** Sunwoong Kim, Chair Division of Social Sciences Executive Committee
- RE: 2019-20 Annual Report

In accordance with Sections 3.07, 3.15(2) and 6.12 of the *UWM Policies and Procedures*, I submit to you a report of the activities of the Executive Committee of the Division of Social Sciences.

### I. MEMBERSHIP

Α.	2019-20 Executive Committee						
	Professor Robert Jeske	Anthropology	2022				
	Assoc. Professor Gladys Mitchell-Walthour	African & African Diaspora Studies	2022				
	Assoc. Professor Zengwang Xu	Geography	2022				
	Assoc. Professor Shawn Cahill	Psychology	2021				
	Assoc. Professor Erin Parcell	Communication	2021				
	Professor Thomas Holbrook	Political Science	2020				
	Professor Sunwoong Kim <sup>1</sup> ( <b>Chair</b> )	Economics	2020				
	<sup>1</sup> Repl L. Timmerman (2020 E)						

# B.2020-21 Executive CommitteeAssoc. Professor Sara BeneshPolitical ScienceAssoc. Professor Anna PychaLinguisticsProfessor Robert JeskeAnthropologyAssoc. Professor Gladys Mitchell-WalthourAfrican & African Diaspora StudiesAssoc. Professor Zengwang XuGeographyAssoc. Professor Shawn Cahill (Chair)PsychologyAssoc. Professor Erin ParcellCommunication

### C. Social Sciences Alternate Members

Persons eligible to serve as alternate members. The year listed indicates how long, according to the five-year rule, they will remain eligible.

Professor Thomas Holbrook	Political Science	2025
Professor Sunwoong Kim	Economics	2025
Professor Aneesh Aneesh	Sociology	2024
Professor Sanjoy Ghose	Business	2024
Professor Joseph Gray	Anthropology	2024
Associate Professor Woonsup Choi	Geography	2023
Professor Karyn Frick	Psychology	2023
Professor Thomas Malaby	Anthropology	2023
Professor Marc Levine	History	2022
Associate Professor Joel Rast	Political Science	2022
Associate Professor Jean Hudson	Anthropology	2021
Associate Professor Jennifer Jordan	Sociology	2021
Professor James Peoples	Economics	2021
Professor Fred Helmstetter	Psychology	2020
Professor Uk Heo	Political Science	2020

### **II. COMMITTEE ACTIVITIES**

The Divisional Executive Committees are charged with rendering promotion, appointment and post-tenure review advice to the deans of the UWM schools or colleges in accordance with UWM Policy & Procedures-Chapter 3, Faculty Divisional Systems. The Committee scheduled seven (7) meetings for the 2019-20 academic year to consider personnel matters:

Fall 2019: September 18, October 16, November 13, and December 11, 2019 Spring 2020: February 10, March 9, and May 8, 2020

## **III. RECOMMENDATION ON PERSONNEL CASES**

Α.	Recommendations by the Entire Executive Committee	<u>Positive</u>	<u>Negative</u>	<u>Total</u>
	Promotion to the rank of Associate Professor with Tenure	0	0	0
	Appointment to the rank of Associate Professor with Tenure	0	0	0
В.	Recommendations by the Subcommittee of Full Professors	<u>Positive</u>	<b>Negative</b>	<u>Total</u>
	Promotion to the rank of Professor	5	0	5
	Appointment to the rank of Professor	0	0	0
c.	Total Recommendations Forwarded	Positive	<u>Negative</u>	<u>Total</u>
		5	0	5

### IV. CRITERIA

There were no revisions to the Social Sciences Criteria for Procedures and Evaluative Criteria for

*Reviewing Departmental Recommendations for Appointment to Tenure and/or Promotion* document.

# V. POST-TENURE REVIEW CRITERIA

There is one revision to the Division of Social Sciences *Procedures for Responding to Negative Post-Tenure Review* and the *Checklist for Post-Tenure Review Files to be Submitted for Review* document to revise checklist/APPENDIX A: item 4:

A letter from the Chair of the Department Executive Committee describing attendance at the Executive Committee meeting and the <u>summary of the</u> vote (ayes/nays/abstentions)