

Division of Professions

Executive Committee

LUBAR 450 414 229-5998 phone

Division of Professions 2019-20 Annual Report

DATE: May 2020

TO: Faculty of the Division of Professions

FROM: Kimberly Hassell, 2019-20 Chair

Division of Professions Executive Committee

RE: 2019-20 Annual Report

In accordance with Chapter 3, Sections 3.07 and 3.15(2) and 6.12 of the UWM Policies and Procedures, we are submitting a report of the activities of the Executive Committee of the Division of Professions.

I. MEMBERSHIP

A. 2019-20

Professor Simone Conceição ¹	Administrative Leadership	2022
Assoc. Professor Melinda Kavanaugh ²	Social Work	2022
Assoc. Professor Jian Zhao	Civil Engineering	2022
Associate Professor Jennifer Doll	Biomedical Sciences	2021
Professor Teresa Johnson	Nursing	2021
Assoc. Professor Stephen Cobb ³	Kinesiology	2020
Assoc. Professor Kimberly Hassell, Chair	Criminal Justice	2020

¹ No elected candidate ² No elected candidate ³ Repl K. Wallick (2020-E)

The Committee acknowledges its appreciation to the following past members for their service as alternate members during the 2019-20 academic year: Steve Brandl (3), Janis Eells (3), Nancy File (1), and Dietmar Wolfram (1).

B. 2020-21

Assoc. Professor Chris Lawson	Educational Psychology	2023
Assoc. Professor Lorraine Halinka Malcoe	Public Health	2023
Professor Simone Conceição ¹	Administrative Leadership	2022
Assoc. Professor Melinda Kavanaugh ² , Co-Chair	Social Work	2022
Assoc. Professor Jian Zhao	Civil Engineering	2022
Professor Teresa Johnson, Co-Chair	Nursing	2021
Associate Professor Thomas LeBel ³	Criminal Justice & Criminology	2021

¹ No elected candidate ² No elected candidate ³Repl. J. Doll (2021-E)

C. 2019-20 Alternate Members

Persons eligible to serve as alternate members. The year listed indicates how long, according to the five-year rule, they will remain eligible.

Kimberly Hassell	Criminal Justice & Criminology	2025
Stephen Cobb	Kinesiology	2025
Associate Professor Karl Wallick	Architecture	2024
Associate Nidal Abu-Zahra	Materials	2024
Associate Kevin Keenan	Human Movement Science	2024
Professor Konstantin Sobolev	Civil Engr & Mechanics	2024
Associate Laura Otto-Salaj	Social Work	2023
Associate Gary Williams	Educational Policy & Comm Studies	2023
Professor Steven Brandl	Criminal Justice	2022
Professor Janis Eells	Biomedical Sciences	2022
Professor Nancy File	Curriculum & Instruction	2022
Associate Habib Tabatabai	Civil & Environmental Engineering	2021
Professor Dietmar Wolfram	School of Information Studies	2021
Professor Ethan Munson	Electrical Eng/Computer Sciences	2020
Associate Nancy Rice	Exceptional Education	2020

II. COMMITTEE ACTIVITES

The Divisional Executive Committees are charged with rendering promotion, appointment and post-tenure review advice to the deans of the UWM schools or colleges in accordance with UWM Policy & Procedures-Chapter 3, Faculty Divisional Systems. The Committee scheduled 13 meetings for the 2019-20 academic year to consider personnel matters:

Fall 2018: September 2, October 14, November 11, and December 2 & 9, 2019 **Spring 2019:** February 5 & 19, March 4 & 25, April 8 & 22, and May 6 & 20, 2020

III. RECOMMENDATION ON PERSONNEL CASES

A.	Recommendations by the Entire Executive Committee	<u>Positive</u>	<u>Negative</u>	<u>Total</u>
	Promotion to the rank of Associate Professor with Tenure	9	0	9
	Appointment to the rank of Associate Professor with Tenure	1	0	1
В.	Recommendations by the Subcommittee of Full Professors	<u>Positive</u>	Negative	<u>Total</u>
	Promotion to the rank of Professor	6	0	6
	Appointment to the rank of Professor with Tenure	2	0	2
C.	Total Recommendations Forwarded	<u>Positive</u>	<u>Negative</u>	<u>Total</u>
		18	0	18

IV. POST-TENURE REVIEW (PTR) RECOMMENDATIONS

Total PTR Recommendations Forwarded: There were no Post-Tenure Review cases.

V. CRITERIA

There were no revisions to the Professions *Criteria for Procedures and Evaluative Criteria for Reviewing Departmental Recommendations for Appointment to Tenure and/or Promotion*.

VI. POST-TENURE REVIEW CRITERIA

There were no revisions to the *Procedures for Responding to Negative Post-Tenure Review* and *Checklist for Post-Tenure Review Files to be Submitted for Review.*

