

College of General Studies Executive Committee

LUB N450 414 229-5998 phone

# GENERAL STUDIES DIVISIONAL COMMITTEE 2019-20 Annual Report

DATE May 2020

FROM: Professor Margaret Hamilton, Chair

**Division of General Studies Executive Committee** 

**TO:** Faculty of the Division of General Studies

In accordance with Sections 3.07, 3.15(2) and 6.12 of the *UWM Policies and Procedures*, I submit to you a report of the activities of the Executive Committee of the Division of Natural Sciences.

#### I. MEMBERSHIP

## A. 2018-19 Executive Committee

Associate Professor Steven Decker	Arts & Humanities	WK	2022
Associate Professor Alan Price	Mathematics & Natural Sciences	WK	2022
Professor Margaret Hamilton, Chair	Psychology-Education	WC	2021
Professor Christopher Hays	Amer. Indian Studies-Anthro	WC	2021
Associate Professor Suzanne Joneson	Biological Sciences	WK	2021
Professor Mark Peterson	Philosophy	WC	2020
Associate Professor Timothy Thering	History	WK	2020

The Committee extends its appreciation to the following faculty for service as alternate members during the 2019-20 academic year: (1) Joseph Otu (1), Louis Pech (2), Elizabeth Zanichkowsky (6), Michael Pauers (3), Tait Szabo (1),

## B. 2020-21 Executive Committee

Associate Professor Drew Blanchard	Arts & Humanities	WK	2023
Associate Professor Lisa Hager	Arts & Humanities	WK	2023
Associate Professor Steven Decker	Arts & Humanities	WK	2022
Associate Professor Alan Price	Mathematics & Natural Sciences	WK	2022
Professor Margaret Hamilton	Social Sciences & Business	WC	2021
Professor Christopher Hays	Social Sciences & Business	WC	2021
Associate Professor Suzanne Joneson, Chair	Mathematics & Natural Sciences	WK	2021

## C. 2019-20 Alternate Members

The year indicates how long alternates remain eligible, according to the five-year rule.

Professor Mark Peterson	Philosophy	WC	2025
Associate Professor Timothy Thering	History	WK	2025
Assoc Professor Paul Price	Geography-Geology	WK	2024
Professor Elizabeth Zanichkowski	English	WK	2024
Assoc Professor Tim Dunn	Philosophy	WK	2024
Assoc Professor Lisa Hager	English	WK	2024
Assoc Professor Roger Peterson	Mathematics	WC	2024
Assoc Professor Luis Rodriguez	CSEPA	WK	2024
Assoc Professor Jill Rinzel	Psychology	WK	2024
Assoc Professor Kirk Tyvela	History	WC	2024

#### II. COMMITTEE ACTIVITIES

The Divisional Executive Committee is charged with rendering promotion, appointment, and post-tenure review advice to the deans of the UWM schools or colleges in accordance with UWM Policy & Procedures-Chapter 3, Faculty Divisional Systems. The Committee held eight (8) meetings in the 2019-20 academic year to consider personnel matters:

Fall 2019: October 24 & 31, November 7 & 14, December 5 & 12, 2019

**Spring 2020:** May 15 & Aug 10, 2020

## III. RECOMMENDATION ON PERSONNEL CASES

A.	Recommendations by The Full Executive Committee  Promotion to the rank of Associate Professor with Tenure	Positive 3	Negative 0	Total
	Appointment to the rank of Associate Professor with Tenure	0	0	0
В.	Recommendations by the Subcommittee of Full Professors	<u>Positive</u>	<u>Negative</u>	<u>Total</u>
	Promotion to the rank of Professor	2	0	2
	Appointment to the rank of Professor	1	0	1
c.	TOTAL Personnel Recommendations Forwarded	<u>Positive</u>	Negative	<u>Total</u>
		6	0	6

#### IV. POST-TENURE REVIEW RECOMMENDATIONS

TOTAL Post-Tenure Review Advice Requests	<u>Positive</u>	<b>Negative</b>	<u>Total</u>
	0	0	0

#### V. CRITERIA

There were no revisions to the *Division of General Studies Criteria for Reviewing Departmental Recommendations for Tenure and Promotion*.

### VI. POST-TENURE REVIEW CRITERIA

There were no revisions to the *Division of General Studies Procedures for Responding to Post-Tenure Reviews* or the *Checklist for Post-Tenure Review Files Submission*.