# University of Wisconsin–Milwaukee AWARDS AND RECOGNITION COMMITTEE 2019-2020 Annual Report

### **Members**:

Name	Rank	Department	Term Ends
Sarah Riforgiate	FAC	Communication	2022
Ichiro Suzuki	FAC	Computer Science	2022
Xiangming (Simon) Mu	FAC	Information Studies	2021
Michele Polfuss	FAC	Nursing	2021
Guangwu Xu <sup>1</sup>	FAC	Computer Science	2021
Simone Linhares Ferro, Chair	FAC	Dance	2020
Xiaohua Peng <sup>2</sup>	FAC	Chemistry & Biochemistry	2020
<>	Student		2020
<>	Student		2020

- <> Yet to be appointed
- 1 Repl. M Nosonovsky (2021-E)
- 2 Repl A. Donnelly (2020-A)

### **Charter:**

# **Functions/ Responsibilities:**

# A1.6 Awards and Recognition Committee

(1) <u>Membership.</u> Nine members as follows: four elected faculty members; three faculty members appointed by the University Committee; and two students.

#### (2) Functions

- a) Subject to administrative policies and guidelines and subject to the provisions of gifts, bequests, or other unbudgeted sources not administered directly by colleges, schools, or departments, recommends or selects candidates for awards or recognition for faculty members.
- b) Selects recipients for outstanding teacher recognition awards and service awards from candidates nominated by students, faculty, or departments.
- c) Recommends students for appropriate scholarship awards not under the jurisdiction of other faculty committees or other agencies.

University of Wisconsin - Milwaukee Faculty Document No. 3286, September 17, 2020

- d) Maintains liaison with appropriate system-wide committees where these are pertinent to UWM.
- e) Acts as an information clearing house concerning sources of awards and recognition.

(Doc 1016, 3/17/77: UWM Administration approval, 3/30/77) (Editorially revised, 7/1/10)

#### **Meetings**:

In 2019-2020, the Awards and Recognition Committee met twice in the fall and three times in the spring, and visited a class for each of the nine faculty members nominated for the Distinguished Undergraduate Teaching Award. We have judged five as excelling in undergraduate teaching practices.

The committee divided the nominees among the Distinguished Undergraduate Teaching Award committee, met with each nominee, and observed one class taught by the nominee. Due to the COVID-19 pandemic and the online course delivery after the spring break, the number of classes visited was limited. Yet, all nominees received the visit of at least one committee member. The committee proceeded to evaluate each candidate on 1-5 scale and made their recommendations to the UWM Chancellor Mark Mone.

The committee also approved three of the four nominated for the Distinguished University Service Award.

The Committee unanimously nominated Sarah E Riforgiate as Chair of the Awards and Recognition Committee for 2020-2021.