The University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee AWARDS AND RECOGNITIONS COMMITTEE *Minutes* April 27, 2020 3pm – TEAMS

Attendance: Sarah E Riforgiate, Simone Ferro (recorder), Michele Lynn Polfuss, Xiangming Mu, Ichiro Suzuki, Xiaohua Peng Excused: Guangwu Xu (on Sabbatical),

I. The meeting was called to order at 3:01pm

II. The minutes of the April 9, 2020 meeting were approved (Riforgiate/Polfuss) at 3:02pm (4 yes, 0 no, 1 abs)

III. New Business

Motion by Michele Polfuss to move into closed session to consider individual applicant materials as permitted by Wis. Stat. 19.85 (1)(c) and (f). Seconded by Xiangming Mu at 3:02pm. Motion adopted by unanimous vote, no abstentions.

A. The committee discussed the nominations to the UWM Distinguished University Service Award

Motion by Xiangming Mu to move out of closed session as permitted by Wis. Stat. 19.85 (1)(c) and (f). Seconded by Ichiro Suzuki at 3:12pm. Motion adopted by unanimous vote, no abstentions.

Due to their outstanding service contributions to the university, the committee unanimously voted to nominate all three colleagues listed here to the Distinguished University Service Award (Mu/Suzuki) at 3:15pm:

- Hobart Davies
- Derek Counts
- Joseph Rodriguez

It is the committee's understanding that no nominations for the Public Service Award have been submitted. Therefore, it is our hope that we can move forward with all three of the above nominations. If that is not possible, the committee requests that the first two nominations be considered. B. The Committee unanimously nominated Sarah E Riforgiate as Chair of the Awards and Recognition Committee for 2020-2021 (Polfuss/Peng) at 3:25pm

Ferro takes the opportunity to thank the committee for all their numerous contributions during the year and the service they have provided to the university.

IV. The committee adjourned at 3:29pm