## UNIVERSITY OF WISCONSIN - MILWAUKEE FACULTY SENATE MEETING AGENDA

Thursday, May 7, 2020; 2:30 p.m.

**Location: to be held virtually on Microsoft Teams** 

Click to Join Microsoft Teams Meeting

Call in: +1 414-253-8850 - Conference ID: 601 944 820#

## I. COMMENTS AND QUESTIONS

- 1. Chancellor's Report (10 minutes)
- 2. Provost's Report (5 minutes)
- 3. University Committee Report: Kathleen Dolan, Chair (5 minutes)
- 4. Academic Planning & Budget Committee Report: Barry Cameron, Co-Chair (5 minutes)
- 5. Academic Staff Committee Report: Leigh Wallace, Chair (5 minutes)
- 6. Athletic Board Report: Kevin Keenan, Chair (5 minutes)
- 7. Student Association: Connor Mathias, President (5 minutes)

## II. SENATE ROLL CALL (Not later than 3:10 p.m.)

If you miss roll call, please send an email during the meeting time containing your name, department, and division to the Secretary of the University's Office: secofunv@uwm.edu.

## III. AUTOMATIC CONSENT (Not later than 3:15 p.m.)

1. Approval of the minutes of the April 16, 2020 Faculty Senate Meeting

#### IV. CHANCELLOR'S REPORT

March 4, 2021

- 1. <u>Document 3273</u>, 04/16/20: Request for Authorization to Implement a Bachelor of Science in Freshwater Sciences at UW-Milwaukee. Sent to UWM Administration, 04/21/20.
- 2. <u>Document 3274</u>, 04/16/20: Request for Authorization to Implement a Master of Urban Design at UW-Milwaukee. Sent to UWM Administration, 04/21/20.

# V. PROPOSED FACULTY SENATE RULES COMMITTEE AND FACULTY SENATE MEETINGS FOR ACADEMIC YEAR 2020-21

Rules Committee (tentative)	Faculty/Senate (tentative)
Semester I	Semester I
September 3, 2020	September 17, 2020 (Faculty)
October 1, 2020	October 15, 2020
October 29, 2020	November 12, 2020
November 19, 2020	December 10, 2020
Semester II	Semester II
January 14, 2021	January 28, 2021 (Faculty)
February 4, 2021	February 18, 2021

April 1, 2021 April 15, 2021 April 29, 2021 May 11, 2021 (Tuesday if needed)

May13, 2021

March 18, 2021

#### VI. SPECIAL ORDERS OF BUSINESS

1. Election to fill two vacancies for three-year terms on the Faculty Senate Subcommittee on the Evaluation of Administrators. (Nominations and balloting at this meeting.) In accordance with FD 1947, "Five Senators shall be elected annually to staggered-three-year terms; the chair shall be elected by the committee. No more than two members shall be from a single school, college, or equivalent academic unit. No more than one member shall be from a single department in a departmentalized school or college. Committee members must be members of the Faculty Senate. Nominations and elections will take place at the May Senate meeting."

The continuing members are Richard Grusin, John Reisel, and Tricia Wessel-Blaski. <u>The 2020-21 Senate membership roster is attached.</u> *Please obtain consent of the person(s) you nominate.* (Not later than 3:20 p.m.)

2. Election of the 2020-21 Faculty Senate Rules Committee. (Nominations and balloting at this meeting). "Seven members as follows: Six members of the Senate elected annually by the Senate, at least one member shall be from each faculty division, and the Chancellor, ex-officio.

The chairperson is elected from among the members of the committee by majority vote of the Senate and becomes President pro tem of the Senate, who also serves as a member of the University Committee Any given school or college may not be represented in consecutive years in the chair of the Rules Committee; further, membership composition restrictions of the University Committee with respect to school/college and departmental affiliation of its members shall also be followed when electing the chairperson."

Faculty from the College of Letters & Science, the College of Nursing, the Department of Biomedical Engineering, the Department of Electrical Engineering, and the Department of Mechanical Engineering are not eligible for chairperson. The 2020-21 Senate membership roster is attached. Please obtain consent of the person(s) you nominate.

(Not later than 3:30 p.m.)

#### VII. BUSINESS

1. Recommendation of the College of Letters & Science and the Department of Art History to Change the Name of the BA in Art History and Criticism to a BA in Art History (Not later than 3:45 p.m.)

3275

Derek Counts Department of Art History, Professor and Chair Presenting

2. Athletic Department Report

(Not later than 3:50 p.m.)

Amanda Braun Director of Athletics Presenting

3. UWM Foundation Report (Not later than 4:00 p.m.)

David Gilbert UWM Foundation, President Presenting 4. Milwaukee Organization Representing the Faculty Senate (MORFS) Update (Not later than 4:10 p.m.)

Mark D. Schwartz UC, Member Presenting

# VIII. SPECIAL ORDERS OF BUSINESS (cont.)

Election of the Chair of the Faculty Senate Rules Committee (Not later than 4:15 p.m.)

- IX. UNFINISHED BUSINESS (Not later than 4:25 p.m.)
- X. GENERAL GOOD AND WELFARE (Not later than 4:25 p.m.)
- XI. ADJOURNMENT