The University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee

Graduate Student Fellowship Committee (GSFC) Monday, September 16, 2019 8:30-10 a.m. Mitchell Hall 245

Minutes

Members Present: Bonita Klein-Tasman, Jake Luo, Dean Nardelli, Ryan Newton,

Anne Pycha, Gillian Rodger, Sara VanderHaagen, Stephen Wetzel

Members Absent: Gladys Mitchell-Walthour, Valerica Raicu, Susan Rose,

Nathan Salowitz

Guests: Dana Baldwin (ex officio), Alessandra Gillen, Tiffany Nation,

Jason Puskar (ex officio)

1. Call to Order

a. The meeting was called to order by Stephen Wetzel per the Secretary of the University Office at 8:30 a.m.

2. Announcements

- a. Introduction of Alex Gillen, new fellowship coordinator (Nation).
- b. GSFC has a new charter, and now is a full standing committee instead of a subcommittee. The committee no longer reports to GFC (Puskar).

3. Election of 2019-2020 Chair

a. VanderHaagen nominated Bonita Klein-Tasman. Pycha seconded. Klein-Tasman accepted the nomination, agreed to serve, and was unanimously elected as chair.

4. Approval of the Minutes from the March 11, 2019 Meeting

a. Motion was made, seconded, and passed unanimously.

5. Review Draft Timeline

a. Bonita Klein-Tasman discussed the draft timeline with the committee. Questions/answers and discussion followed.

6. Other Business

- a. Motion to update instructions on website for both DGSF and DDF, adding the bulleted point in the application instructions for each: "Applicants are asked to clearly distinguish published or completed work from work that is still in progress." Motion was seconded and passed unanimously.
- b. The next GSFC meeting will be in January during the first week of classes.

7. Adjournment

a. The meeting adjourned at 8:59 a.m.