

Division of the Social Sciences *Executive Committee*

LUB N450 P O Box 413 Milwaukee, WI 53201-0413 414 229-5998 414 229-5198 fax

Division of Social Sciences 2018-19 Annual Report

DATE: May 2019

TO Faculty of the Division of Social Sciences

FROM: Thomas Holbrook, Chair

Division of Social Sciences Executive Committee

RE: 2018-19 Annual Report

In accordance with Sections 3.07, 3.15(2) and 6.12 of the *UWM Policies and Procedures*, I submit to you a report of the activities of the Executive Committee of the Division of Social Sciences.

I. MEMBERSHIP

A. 2018-19 Executive Committee

Assoc. Professor Shawn Cahill	Physics	2021
Assoc. Professor Erin Parcell	Communication	2021
Professor Thomas Holbrook (Chair)	Political Science	2020
Professor Sunwoong Kim ¹	Economics	2020
Professor Aneesh Aneesh	Sociology	2019
Professor Sanjoy Ghose ²	Business	2019
Professor Joseph Gray ³	Anthropology	2019

¹Repl L. Timmerman (2020 E) ²Repl Q. Wang (2019 E) ³Repl T. Malaby (2019 E)

B. 2019-20 Executive Committee

Professor Robert Jeske	Anthropology	2021
Assoc. Professor Gladys Mitchell-Walthour	African & African Diaspora Studies	2021
Assoc. Professor Zengwang Xu	Geography	2021
Assoc. Professor Shawn Cahill	Physics	2021
Assoc. Professor Erin Parcell	Communication	2021
Professor Thomas Holbrook	Political Science	2020
Professor Sunwoong Kim ¹ (Chair)	Economics	2020

¹Repl L. Timmerman (2020 E)

University of Wisconsin Milwaukee Faculty Document No. 3250, September 19, 2019

C. 2019-20 Alternate Members

Persons eligible to serve as alternate members. The year listed indicates how long, according to the five-year rule, they will remain eligible.

Professor Aneesh Aneesh	Sociology	2024
Professor Sanjoy Ghose	Business	2024
Professor Joseph Gray	Anthropology	2024
Associate Professor Woonsup Choi	Geography	2023
Professor Karyn Frick	Psychology	2023
Professor Thomas Malaby	Anthropology	2023
Professor Marc Levine	History	2022
Associate Professor Joel Rast	Political Science	2022
Associate Professor Jean Hudson	Anthropology	2021
Associate Professor Jennifer Jordan	Sociology	2021
Professor James Peoples	Economics	2021
Professor Fred Helmstetter	Psychology	2020
Professor Uk Heo	Political Science	2020
Professor Kathleen Dolan	Political Science	2019
Professor Changshan Wu	Geography	2019

II. COMMITTEE ACTIVITIES

The Divisional Executive Committees are charged with rendering promotion, appointment and post-tenure review advice to the deans of the UWM schools or colleges in accordance with UWM Policy & Procedures-Chapter 3, Faculty Divisional Systems. The Committee scheduled six (6) meetings for the 2018-19 academic year to consider personnel matters:

Fall 2018: September 6, October 5, November 30, and December 14, 2018 Spring 2019: February 22 and May 17, 2019

III. RECOMMENDATION ON PERSONNEL CASES

A.	Recommendations by the Entire Executive Committee	<u>Positive</u>	<u>Negative</u>	<u>Total</u>
	Promotion to the rank of Associate Professor with Tenure	7	0	7
	Appointment to the rank of Associate Professor with Tenure	0	0	0
В.	Recommendations by the Subcommittee of Full Professors	<u>Positive</u>	<u>Negative</u>	<u>Total</u>
	Promotion to the rank of Professor	2	0	2
	Appointment to the rank of Professor	1	0	1
C.	Total Recommendations Forwarded	<u>Positive</u>	<u>Negative</u>	<u>Total</u>
		10	0	10

IV. CRITERIA

There were no revisions to the Social Sciences Criteria for Procedures and Evaluative Criteria for Reviewing Departmental Recommendations for Appointment to Tenure and/or Promotion document.

V. POST-TENURE REVIEW CRITERIA

There were no revisions to the Division of Social Sciences *Procedures for Responding to Negative Post-Tenure Review* and the *Checklist for Post-Tenure Review Files to be Submitted for Review* documents.

