

Division of Natural Sciences Executive Committee

LUB N450 414 229-5998 phone

DIVISION OF NATURAL SCIENCES 2018-19 Annual Report

DATE May 2019

FROM: Professor David Frick, Chair

Division of Natural Sciences Executive Committee

TO: Faculty of the Division of Natural Sciences

In accordance with Sections 3.07, 3.15(2) and 6.12 of the *UWM Policies and Procedures*, I submit to you a report of the activities of the Executive Committee of the Division of Natural Sciences.

I. MEMBERSHIP

A. 2018-19 Executive Committee

Professor Daniel Gervini	Mathematical Sciences	L&S	2021
Associate Professor Michael Nosonovsky	Mechanical Engineering	CEAS	2021
Professor Nikolai Kouklin	Electrical Engineering	CEAS	2021
Associate Professor Alan Wiseman	Physics	L&S	2020
Professor Hector Bravo ¹	Civil Engr & Mechanics	CEAS	2019
Professor David Frick (Chair)	Chemistry/Biochemistry	L&S	2019
Professor Dazhong (Dave) Zhao ²		L&S	2019

¹Repl S. Dornbos (2019-E) ²Repl John Berges (Sabbatical-2019-E)

B. 2019-20 Executive Committee

Professor Lindsay McHenry	Geosciences	L&S	2022
Professor Sandra McLellan	Freshwater Sciences	FWSCI	2022
Professor Daniel Gervini	Mathematical Sciences	L&S	2021
Associate Professor Michael Nosonovsky	Mechanical Engineering	CEAS	2021
Professor Nikolai Kouklin	Electrical Engineering	CEAS	2021
Professor John Berges	Biological Sciences	L&S	2020
Associate Professor Alan Wiseman	Physics	L&S	2020

A. 2018-19 Alternate Members

The year indicates how long alternates remain eligible, according to the five-year rule.

Professor Hector Bravo	Civil Engr & Mechanics	CEAS	2024
Professor David Frick	Chemistry/Biochemistry	L&S	2024
Dazhong (Dave) Zhao	Biological Sciences	L&S	2024
Professor Ryochi Amano	Mechanical Engineering	CEAS	2023
Professor Devendra Misra	Electrical Engineering	CEAS	2023
Professor Richard Stockbridge	Mathematical Sciences	L&S	2023
Associate Professor Qian Liao	Civil Engineering & Mech	CEAS	2022
Associate Professor Dyanna Czeck	Geosciences	L&S	2021
Professor Peter Tonellato	Public Health	SPH	2021
Professor Junhong Chen	Mechanical Engineering	CEAS	2020
Professor John Janssen	Freshwater Sciences	SFS	2020
Professor Adel Nasiri	Electrical Eng/Computer Sci	CEAS	2020
Professor Bruce Wade	Mathematical Sciences	L&S	2020

II. COMMITTEE ACTIVITIES

The Divisional Executive Committee is charged with rendering promotion, appointment and post-tenure review advice to the deans of the UWM schools or colleges in accordance with UWM Policy & Procedures-Chapter 3, Faculty Divisional Systems. The Committee scheduled nine (9) meetings for the 2018-19 academic year to consider personnel matters:

Fall 2018: August 29, October 5, November 2, and December 7, 2018 **Spring 2019:** January 18, February 8, March 8, April 12, and May 10, 2019

III. RECOMMENDATION ON PERSONNEL CASES

A.	Recommendations by The Entire Executive Committee	<u>Positive</u>	<u>Negative</u>	<u>Total</u>
	Promotion to the rank of Associate Professor with Tenure	2	0	2
	Appointment to the rank of Associate Professor with Tenure	0	0	0
В.	Recommendations by the Subcommittee of Full Professors	<u>Positive</u>	<u>Negative</u>	<u>Total</u>
	Promotion to the rank of Professor	2	0	2
	Appointment to the rank of Professor	0	0	0
C.	TOTAL Personnel Recommendations Forwarded	<u>Positive</u>	<u>Negative</u>	<u>Total</u>
		4	0	4

IV. CRITERIA

There were no revisions to the Division of Natural Sciences *Criteria for Procedures and Evaluative Criteria for Reviewing Departmental Recommendations for Appointment to Tenure and/or Promotion.*

V. POST-TENURE REVIEW CRITERIA

The committee revised the PTR criteria to more strictly align with UWM Post-Tenure Review Policy, Faculty Document 3083. The following revision was made:

6. The outcome of the vote is then transmitted to the Dean. within 10 business days, for their further consideration.

VII. POST-TENURE REVIEW RECOMMENDATIONS

TOTAL Post-Tenure Review Recommendations (0)



