# University of Wisconsin–Milwaukee AWARDS AND RECOGNITION COMMITTEE 2018-19 Annual Report

### **Members:**

Name	Rank	Department
Guangwu Xu <sup>3</sup>	FAC	Comupter Science
Michele Polfuss	FAC	Nursing
Xiangming (Simon) Mu	FAC	Information Studies
Simone Linhares Ferro	FAC	Dance
Xiaohua Peng <sup>1</sup>	FAC	Chemistry & Biochemistry
Ichiro Suzuki <sup>2</sup>	FAC	Elec Engr & Comp Sci
Joseph Rodriguez, Chair	FAC	History
<>	Student	
<>	Student	

- <> Yet to be appointed
- 1 Repl A. Donnelly (2020-A)
- 2 Repl S. Arora (2019-A)
- 3 Repl. M Nosonovsky (2021-E)

### **Charter:**

## **Functions/ Responsibilities:**

### A1.6 Awards and Recognition Committee

(1) <u>Membership.</u> Nine members as follows: four elected faculty members; three faculty members appointed by the University Committee; and two students.

#### (2) Functions

- a) Subject to administrative policies and guidelines and subject to the provisions of gifts, bequests, or other unbudgeted sources not administered directly by colleges, schools, or departments, recommends or selects candidates for awards or recognition for faculty members.
- b) Selects recipients for outstanding teacher recognition awards and service awards from candidates nominated by students, faculty, or departments.

University of Wisconsin Milwaukee Faculty Document No. 3244, September 19, 2019

- c) Recommends students for appropriate scholarship awards not under the jurisdiction of other faculty committees or other agencies.
- d) Maintains liaison with appropriate system-wide committees where these are pertinent to UWM.
- e) Acts as an information clearing house concerning sources of awards and recognition.

(Doc 1016, 3/17/77: UWM Administration approval, 3/30/77) (Editorially revised, 7/1/10)

### **Meetings**:

The ARC met 4 times during 2018-2019. The chair submitted agendas and minutes to the Secretary of the University staff for posting.

This was the first year that the committee was charged with including nominees for the undergraduate teaching award (UTA) from UWM-Waukesha and UWM-Washington County. Of a total of 13 nominees for the UTA, 3 were from Waukesha and Washington County. Since the committee always makes teaching observations in person, the chair requested expenses for the committee members (mileage) but that request was denied. To make an observation in Waukesha and Washington requires a 40-45 minute drive each way and another 2-3 hours or more depending on the number of nominees. Usually at least two faculty make these observations. This is a lot to expect from committee members.

The merger added over 60 faculty from Waukesha and Washington County to UWM. This suggests that it might be more fair to increase the total number of winners for the UTA. Adding two UTAs, one each for Waukesha and Washington County, and having a separate award committee for the two-year schools would make sense. Or, perhaps create an awards committee within the College of General Studies to select 1-2 UTAs for that College.

Also, the nominees that do not receive the UTA should receive some other gift or recognition i.e. a certificate congratulating them on being nominated.

Finally, after the committee had observed the teaching of all the nominees and discussed all nominees and selected the teaching award winners, the committee chair was informed that two of the nominees were not eligible to receive the award. Therefore, in the future, the chair strongly suggests that the Secretary of the University be responsible for determining the eligibility of all nominees.