

STRATEGIC DIRECTIONS

DIVERSITY, EQUITY AND INCLUSION
OUTSTANDING LEARNING ENVIRONMENT
RESEARCH EXCELLENCE
COMMUNITY ENGAGEMENT AND TALENT PIPELINE
SUSTAINABLE FUTURE FOR THE CAMPUS

FALL AWARDS CEREMONY

OCTOBER 16, 2019 | 2 P.M.
WISCONSIN ROOM, UWM UNION

2019 UWM AWARD RECIPIENTS

UWM Faculty Distinguished Undergraduate Teaching Award

Presented by Mark A. Mone, Chancellor

Deepak Basyal, Assistant Professor College of General Studies, STEM

Maria Gillespie, Associate Professor Department of Dance

Gwynne Kennedy, Associate Professor Department of English

Aims McGuinness, Associate Professor Department of History

UWM Faculty Distinguished University Service Award

Presented by Mark A. Mone, Chancellor

Michael Brondino, Associate Professor Department of Social Work

Office of Research / UWM Foundation Research Award

Presented by Mark Harris, *Interim Vice Provost for Research*

Philip Chang, Associate Professor Department of Physics

Amy E. Kalkbrenner, *Associate Professor* Joseph J. Zilber School of Public Health

Nancy Rolock, Associate Professor Department of Social Work

Office of Research / UWM Foundation Senior Faculty Research Award

Presented by Mark Harris, Interim Vice Provost for Research

Jolien Creighton, *Professor* Department of Physics

Lingqian (Ivy) Hu, *Professor* Department of Urban Planning

Gregory Jay, *Professor* Department of English

UWM Research in the Humanities Award

Presented by Mark Harris, *Interim Vice Provost for Research*

Jocelyn Szczepaniak-Gillece, Assistant *Professor* Department of English

UWM Academic Staff Outstanding Performance & Service Award

Presented by Johannes Britz, *Provost and Vice Chancellor*

Douglas C. Stafford, *Director*Milwaukee Institute for Drug Discovery

H. Victoria Pryor, *Student Services Program Manager II*Black Student Cultural Center

2019 UWM AWARD RECIPIENTS

Alejandra Lopez, Senior Academic Advisor & Coordinator of Retention Initiatives
Sheldon B. Lubar School of Business

UWM Academic Staff Outstanding Teaching Award

Presented by Johannes Britz, Provost and Vice Chancellor

kathryn e. martin-meurer, *Senior Lecturer* Department of Art & Design

Michael Freimark, *Lecturer* Sheldon B. Lubar School of Business

Marika Kovacs-Houlihan, Clinical Associate Professor Department of Teaching & Learning

UWM University Staff Outstanding Service Award

Presented by Robin Van Harpen, Vice Chancellor of Finance and Administrative Affairs

Alisha Andrews, *Custodian* Department of Facility Services

Kirsten Archambeau, Accounts Receivable Supervisor Business & Financial Services/Bursar's Office

Maribeth Sacho, *University Services Program Associate*School of Continuing Education

Glenda Watkins, *Custodian* Department of Facility Services

Joanne Lazirko Award for Excellence in Teaching with Technology

Presented by Mark A. Mone, Chancellor

Christopher D. Cantwell, Assistant *Professor*Department of History

Ernest Spaights Plaza Honorees

Presented by Mark A. Mone, Chancellor

Lawrence Baldassaro, *Professor Emeritus*Department of French, Italian and Comparative
Literature
1972-2008

Sally P. Lundeen, *Professor Emerita* College of Nursing 1985-2016

The Ernest Spaights Plaza is named in honor of the late Professor Ernest Spaights and is dedicated to individuals who have made significant, enduring and campus-wide contributions to the growth and development of the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee.

Special Thanks To:

Dave Edwards, Master of Ceremonies Carolyn Driscoll, Awards Assistant Nicole Keeler, ASL Interpreter

Music Provided By:

Don Linke, Jazz Guitarist