UWM-University Staff Council Elections/Nominations Committee

MAY 10, 2019

LUBAR N456

MINUTES

PRESENT: R. Badger, L. Eastman, J. Peshut, D. Rasmussen

- I. Call to Order-The meeting was called to order at 2:09 p.m.
- II. Approval of April 11, 2019 minutes-The minutes were approved as submitted.
- III. Nomination for Chancellor's LGBTQ+ Committee-The committee reviewed the preference sheet and discussed candidates. The committee will forward names to USC for final approval before they are sent to the Chancellor's office for approval.
- IV. USC Election of Officers-June 2019-Elections will be at the June meeting. Outgoing members are unable to vote but can nominate. New members can vote. L. Eastman, chair of the Nominations committee will ask for nominations at the May meeting to send to everyone for the June meeting. The committee was concerned about distribution of work for the USC and University Staff Senate. The Executive Committee, Chair, Vice Chair and Secretary of the USC is the same for both according to the bylaws. The Nominations Committee unanimously passed the following proposal:

MOTION:

Due to the anticipated additional high volume of work involved with the University Staff Senate, the University Staff Nominations Committee proposes that the Vice Chair of the University Staff Council becomes Chair of the University Staff Senate to share the duties/workload and not overload one person.

- V. Special Elections for University Staff Senate and Standing Committees-Dates were discussed for the Special Elections. A special election for spots on the Senate and Standing Committees will be held in September 2019. A preference sheet will go out in August so University Staff can run for open spots on committees.
- VI. Nominations for Faculty Committees with US Representatives-The committee discussed some of the Faculty committees with US representation and the appointment process. They will meet with the new members in July and finalize appointments to be forwarded to the Secretary of the University's office.
- VII. Election of Chair for 2019-2020-L. Eastman was elected chair for 2019-2010 for the Nominations Committee.
- VIII. Other Business-There was no other business.
- IX. Adjournment-The meeting was adjourned at 3:01 p.m.