University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee HONORARY DEGREES COMMITTEE 2017-18 Annual Report

Members:

Name	Rank	Department
Kalman Applbaum	FAC	Anthropology
Adream Blair	FAC	Art & Design
Aims McGuinness	FAC	History
Janet Padway	AS	UWM Libraries
Virginia Stoffel, Chair	FAC	Occupational Science & Technology
Naira Campbell-Kyureghyan	FAC	Industrial & Manufacturing Engr
Christy Greenleaf	FAC	Kinesiology
<>1	FAC	
Nicole Heinen ²	AS	Panther Academic Support Services
Hans Volkmer	FAC	Mathematical Sciences
Seyed Hosseini	FAC	Electrical Engineering & Comp Sci
Chiu Law	FAC	Electrical Engineering & Comp Sci
Barbara Pauloski	FAC	Commun. Sciences & Disorders
Jeffrey Sommers	FAC	Africology
<>		UWS President Rep
Pat Borger	VC	Development & Alumni Relations (Chancellor Rep)
<>	Student	Undergrad
<>	Student	Grad

<> Yet to be appointed

1 Repl H. Pycior (2019-E)

2 Repl R. Ruback (2019-A)

Charter:

Functions/ Responsibilities:

A3.1 Honorary Degrees Committee

(1) <u>Membership</u>. Eighteen members as follows: Nine elected faculty members; three appointed Faculty members; two academic staff from the Division of Academic Affairs appointed by the Academic Staff Committee; one graduate student and one undergraduate student; two ex-officio members. Each of the four faculty divisions is represented by at least two elected members. Appointed Faculty members are selected by the University Committee. Ex-officio members are the President of the University System, and the Chancellor of the University of Wisconsin B

University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee Faculty Document No. 3170, September 20, 2018

Milwaukee or his/her designee. The chairperson of the committee is designated by the Chancellor of the University of Wisconsin - Milwaukee.

(2) Functions

- a) Considers and recommends candidates for honorary degrees in accordance with the following procedure. During the spring semester, the Chairperson of the Honorary Degrees Committee shall transmit to the deans, directors and the chairpersons of the several divisions, centers, schools, colleges and departments, invitations for submission to the committee of names of persons to be considered for honorary degrees. A list of previous recipients is to be attached to the call for nominations. At least one-half of those presented as candidates for honorary degrees should have some connection with the University system, the City or the State. The Committee shall present its report and recommendation at a meeting of the University Faculty or Faculty Senate in accordance with the provisions of 1.04(8). A two-thirds affirmative vote of those present and voting at the Faculty meeting or Faculty Senate meeting shall be required to nominate a candidate for an Honorary Degree.
- b) Considers and recommends candidates to be honored on the Ernest Spaights Plaza marker. During the fall semester, the Chairperson of the Honorary Degrees Committee shall issue to the UWM community a call for submission to the Committee the names of persons to be considered for nominations. The Committee shall meet in the spring semester to select candidates for recommendation to the Chancellor.
- c) Considers and recommends, in consultation with the University Committee, candidates for a citation for distinguished service or significant contributions to the University of Wisconsin B Milwaukee. The award is given by the Chancellor.

```
(Document 1016, 3/17/77; UWM Administration approval, 3/30/77) (Document 1079, 3/21/78; UWM Administration approval, 3/28/78) (Document 1275, 5/14/81; UWM Administration approval, 5/21/81) (Editorially revised by Codification Committee, 1/12/87, per Faculty Document 904) (Document 1619, 5/10/88; UWM Administration approval, 9/22/88) (Editorially revised, 5/13/92) (Document 2082, 1/23/97; UWM Administration approval, 2/7/97) (Doc. 2718amended, 05/13/10; UWM Administration approval, 6/2/10)
```

Meetings:

The Honorary Degrees Committee met on September 19, 2017 to review the committee's charter, functions and provide overview of the procedures for reviewing nominees. On October 30, 2017 the committee met to consider the nominees for the 2018 Honorary Degrees. Two nominees were recommended by the committee and forwarded to the Board of Regents and Chancellor. The following individuals were awarded their degree at the May 2018 Commencement ceremony: Dan Egan (Environmental Journalism) and Ken Germanson (Humane Letters). At its May 7, 2018 meeting, the committee considered the 2018 nominees for Ernest Spaights Plaza award. Two candidates were forwarded to Chancellor Mark Mone who accepted the committee's recommendations. The awards will be conferred at the Fall Awards Ceremony in October 2018 to Ewa Barczyk and Karen Brucks.