Visit for information about fall 2021.

Step 1 – Application Information – Wisconsin Certified Peer Specialist Certification

Requirements of Certification:

Please read the requirements of certification as stated in this application: Wisconsin Peer Specialist Job Description, Wisconsin Core Training Competencies and the Wisconsin Certified Peer Specialist Code of Ethics.

Exam Process Information:

Three (3) hours are allowed for taking the exam.
PLEASE NOTE: The exam is given online at a computer. If you do not show up for the time you are scheduled for, an additional $25 rescheduling fee will be added.

If you show up 15 minutes late for your scheduled exam time, you will not be allowed to take the exam. Try to arrive 10-15 minutes early to get set up.

Upon successful passing of the exam, a certification document will be issued by the state of Wisconsin within 30 days of the exam date.


Wisconsin Peer Specialist certification is valid for two years. It is the sole responsibility of the Certified Peer Specialist to be aware of their recertification dates and complete this requirement. In this two-year period, 20 total hours of Continuing Education Hours (CEH) must be obtained to qualify for recertification. The required areas of education are:

  1. Cultural Competence
  2. Ethics and Boundaries
  3. Trauma Informed Care
  4. Peer Support Skill Development
  5. Mental Health Specific
  6. Substance Use Disorder

You must have a minimum of 1.5 hours in each of the above areas.
Certified Peer Specialists may choose any other continuing education courses they wish related to the Peer Specialist field and must have a minimum of 20 hours total of continuing education based on the Wisconsin Peer Specialist Core Training Competencies. Certified Peer Specialists are responsible for maintaining their Continuing Education Hours (CEH) and providing documentation of completion to the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee (UWM).

After two years, recertification does not involve taking another certification test unless the initial certification has lapsed and then the test must be retaken.

The recertification renewal fee is $50 every two years. Documents can be downloaded at or

This certification is not transferable to anyone else.

Continue to Step 2

Join Our Email List

Get the latest on courses and certificates in your areas of interest.