With Joyce Hwang, Jonathan Massey & Juan Miró

SUPERjury, started in 2008 by Associate Professor Mo Zell, has grown into an AIAS, student-funded, annual all-school award program that celebrates the exceptional and diverse design work being generated at the School. AIAS president Julian DiMaio led a superb team of students in fundraising, as well as providing behind-the-scenes organization to make this a fantastic all-school event showcasing design work at all levels of the program from sophomore level studios to Master’s thesis work. This day of review, discourse, stimulating ideas, and imagery was made possible by a joint effort of the AIAS, SARUP staff, and Department of Architecture faculty.

The quality and quantity of work presented at SUPERjury in May was stupendous, representing the enormous range of intellectual diversity present at SARUP. Nominees for the event were selected from over 900 projects from the fall 2015 and spring 2016 classes. Ninety were displayed for selection by the SUPERjurors, who were impressed by the vast range of project types, concepts, and techniques. This has become an opportunity to celebrate our achievements and discuss the future trajectory of the School. Three SUPERjurors provide an outsider’s perspective on the student work relative to broad issues effecting curriculum development and education. This past year invited jurors included Joyce Hwang, Associate Professor, University of Buffalo & Architect/Director ANTS OF THE PRAIRE; Jonathan Massey, Dean and Professor, California College of the Arts; and Juan Miró, FAIA LEED AP, Professor UT-Austin and Founding Partner Miró Riveria Architects. The jurors selected 23 projects representing the work of 34 students.