Statement on Executive Order

UWM Philosophy Statement on Executive Order

We, the undersigned faculty of the Department of Philosophy of the University of Wisconsin–Milwaukee, unequivocally condemn the immigration and travel ban issued by President Trump on March 6, 2017 and express our strong support of our students, alumni and applicants to our programs affected by it.

The Executive Order impedes our academic mission. It obstructs our ability to build richly diverse cohorts of students, including international students. Recent graduating classes from our Master’s program include students from the countries named in the Executive Order as well as from other Muslim-majority Middle Eastern countries. Our current pool of applicants includes students from these countries as well.

More fundamentally, the Executive Order attacks the values of mutual respect, diversity, and freedom of personal movement on which scholarship and higher learning depend.

We express support for students, instructors, researchers and faculty who are affected by this ban across UW system and across the country. And we re-commit ourselves to the values intrinsic to our mission which are threatened by this ban.

  • Margaret Atherton
  • Miren Boehm
  • William Bristow
  • Edward Hinchman
  • Stan Husi
  • Stephen Leeds
  • Michael Liston
  • Blain Neufeld
  • Nataliya Palatnik
  • Robert Schwartz
  • Joshua Spencer
  • Richard Tierney
  • Andrea Westlund