Laws & Fines

Fines vary between UWM Police and Milwaukee Police. City of Milwaukee fines reflect minimums for first offenses and are subject to change. See this Milwauke Rules Regulations and Laws Brochure. Remember, UWMPD, MPD and the Dean of Students Office work closely together to address student concerns off-campus. Even if you are off-campus, you are a member and representative of the greater Panther community.  Any off- or on-campus misconduct with be reported to the Dean of Students Office and may result in a student conduct process.

Violation/Fine Guide:

  • Wisconsin State Statue (WI)
  • University of Wisconsin System (UWS)
  • Milwaukee Ordinance (MKE)

Assaultive Behavior – UWS $361.50

No person may intentionally strike, shove, hit, punch, kick or otherwise subject another person to physical contact or cause bodily harm without the consent of the person.

Deposit of Human Waste – UWS $267

No person may deposit human waste products upon, nor urinate or defecate upon, any university lands or facilities other than into a toilet or other device designed and intended to be used to ultimately deposit such human waste products into a septic or sanitary sewer system.

Disorderly Conduct – UWS $298.50, MKE $195

No person may engage in violent, abusive, indecent, profane, boisterous, unreasonably loud or otherwise disorderly conduct under circumstances in which the conduct tends to cause or provoke a disturbance, in university buildings or on university lands.

Excessive Noise Prohibited – MKE $240

No person shall produce or cause to be produced noise which exceeds the limitations set forth (approx. 50feet) It shall be unlawful for any person occupying or having charge or control of any building or premises, or any part thereof, to cause, suffer or allow any loud, excessive or unusual noise in the operation of any radio, stereo or other mechanical nuisances or electrical device, instrument or machine, which loud, excessive or unusual noise tends to unreasonably disturb the comfort, quiet or repose of persons therein or in the vicinity.

  • This ordinance violation could be used for hosts of a house party

Failure to Obey Signage – UWS $204

No person may fail to comply with a sign that reasonably conveys prohibited behavior and that has been approved and posted on university buildings or lands in compliance with the university’s formal process for posting signs.

  • This UWS violation is being used for use of tobacco on campus (which includes smoking/vaping)

Fake ID’s – WI $519

Any underage person who does any of the following is guilty of a violation:

  • Intentionally carries an official identification card not legally issued to him or her, or an official identification card which has been altered or duplicated to convey false information.
  • Intentionally carries an official identification card or other documentation showing that the person has attained the legal drinking age, with knowledge that the official identification card or documentation is false.

Possession of Drug Paraphernalia – UWS $330

No person may use, or possess with the primary intent to use, drug paraphernalia to plant, propagate, cultivate, grow, harvest, manufacture, compound, convert, produce, process, prepare, test, analyze, pack, repack, store, contain, conceal, inject, ingest, inhale or otherwise introduce into the human body a controlled substance or controlled substance analog.

Possession of Marijuana/THC – UWS $393, MKE $50

No person may intentionally use or possess marijuana on university lands, except when such use or possession is authorized under Ch. 961, Stats., or is permitted under s. 961.34, Stats.

Public Drinking/Possession of Alcohol Beverages – MKE $144

It shall be unlawful for any person to consume any alcohol beverage or possess on his or her person, any bottle or receptacle containing alcohol beverages if the bottle has been opened, the seal broken or the contents of the bottle or receptacle have been partially removed upon any public alley, highway, pedestrian mall, sidewalk, or street within the limits of the city.

Resisting or Obstructing Police Officer – UWS $456

No person may knowingly resist or obstruct a university police officer while that officer is doing any act in an official capacity and with lawful authority.

Smoking in Buildings – UWS Fine $204

No person may smoke in any residence hall or other university-owned or university-leased student housing or in any location that is 25 feet or less from such residence hall or housing. No person may smoke in any nonresidential university building.

Sale of Alcohol/License Required – MKE $3,234.06

It shall be unlawful for any person to sell, barter or offer for sale or barter in the city any intoxicating liquors or fermented malt beverages without having obtained a license as provided for in this chapter, or to be in violation of the terms of such license. This includes monetary donations.

  • This ordinance violation could be used for hosts of a house party

Underage Drinking – WI $267+, MKE $195+

WI – Any underage person not accompanied by his or her parent, guardian or spouse, who has attained the legal drinking age, who knowingly possesses or consumes alcohol beverages is guilty of a violation.
MKE – Possession of alcohol by Underage Person

Written by the UWM Health and Safety team, 9/10/19