Over $1 Million Raised in Legacy Challenge

UW-Milwaukee is in the midst of their comprehensive fundraising campaign, Made in Milwaukee, Shaping the World: The Campaign for UWM. The quiet phase of the fundraising effort started in July 2012 and raised $170 million by the time the $200 million campaign was announced publicly in September of 2017.
The campaign is the largest in UWM’s history and was aimed at boosting UWM by focusing on three priorities: student success, research excellence and community engagement.

UWM College of Nursing, with support from the dean and emeritus deans announced a “Legacy Gift Challenge” that launched in September 2017. The challenge encouraged nursing alumni, faculty and staff to include the college in their individual estate plans. Every new or increased planned gift of $25,000 or more was matched with a planned gift of $10,000 from the challenge fund. The challenge fund donors included Deans Emeritae Norma Lang and Sally Lundeen, and current Dean, Kim Litwack.

The three deans made estate plans to benefit the college focusing on the three priorities of the UWM campaign which include research excellence, academic success and community engagement. Current Dean, Kim Litwack, created a gift plan to support unrestricted scholarships for nursing students. The gift from Sally Lundeen, dean from 2001 to 2016 will support the community-based nursing centers she initiated and advocated for as dean. The gift from Norma Lang, who served as dean from 1980 to 1991 and retired in 2013 as dean emerita from the School of Nursing at the University of Pennsylvania, will support nursing faculty research, to nurture and retain promising scholars early in their career.

The results are impressive. The college alone raised over $1 million dollars since September 2017, for a total of 20 new gifts- a new record for the most amount of money raised in one year for the College of Nursing.

As a thank you for their generosity, the Legacy Gift donors were invited to a reception in April at the UWM Hefter Center. Dean Kim Litwack expressed her gratitude and said “Because of you, we are impacting the health of Wisconsin by providing greater numbers of scholarships, increasing our research profile and continuing our long history of community nursing. These gifts ensure that our college sustains its tradition in excellence.”

Thank you to all our Chapman Society Donors:
Dr. Jo Ann Appleyard*
Mary E. Conway, Ph.D., FAAN
Dr. Jennifer Doering*
Teresa B. Dominiak ‘74*
James F. Friedbacher ’64 and Barbara E. Friedbacher ’84*
Todd & Sabine Friedbacher*
Dr. Laurie K. Glass
Constance A. Greiser ‘71
Dr. Elizabeth M. Harrison ‘91, ‘99
Dr. Mary L. Hook ‘79, ‘88*
Douglas W. Johnson*
Michael J. Jungen ’78 and Kathryn M. Jungen ’79*
Dr. Alice Kuramoto*
Dr. Norma Lang*
Jane Leske ’89, PhD*
Dean Kim Litwack and Daniel Masliah*
Paula Lucey ‘76
Dr. Sally Lundeen*
Sarah W. Morgan ‘03
Ellen K. Murphy and Timothy Murphy
Beth Regner Peterman ’74, ’00*
Dr. Carol M. Porth*
Dr. William Powell ‘87 and Dr. Mary L. Kelly-Powell ‘94*
Robert Ritter ‘72, ‘81 and Carolyn Ritter
Dr. Kathleen Sawin*
Dr. Maxine Sliefert
Ken and Dorothy Stoll
Mary Wierenga PhD, RN*
*Legacy Challenge Planned Gift