sigma-theta-tau_2The Eta Nu Chapter of Sigma Theta Tau International is located at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee College of Nursing.

We were chartered in 1984 and will soon be celebrating our 40th anniversary!

Monthly meetings are held the third Thursday every month at 7 p.m. via Zoom. Board meetings are held the second Tuesday of every month at 4 pm via zoom.

Sigma Theta Tau International (STTI) is the only Nursing Honor Society in the world. We honor, support and encourage excellence in all realms of nursing. To find out more about STTI please go to

Organizational Mission/Vision

The mission of the Honor Society of Nursing, Sigma Theta Tau International is to discover how Sigma supports nurses’ efforts to improve the health of the world’s people.

Eta Nu Reflects the Mission and Vision through the following:

Eta Nu members contribute to the STTI Leadership

Julie Snethen, PhD, RN, FAAN, Professor and PhD program director at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee College of Nursing, is the president of the Eta Nu chapter. Professionally, Dr. Snethen is the current chair of the Child, Adolescent, and Family Expert Panel for the American Academy of Nursing, where she is working with panel members on issues related to toxic stress in children and the effects of COVID-19 on obesity. As a member of Sigma, Dr. Snethen served as a faculty member for the Maternal-Child Health Nurse Leadership Academy for over a decade, working on over a dozen leadership projects with fellows and mentors across the U.S. and in Canada. Dr. Snethen is the Associate editor of Nursing Outlook and continues to serve on the International Academy of Nurse Editors conference committee.

Joshua Gwon, PhD, RN, Assistant Professor at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee College of Nursing, is the vice president of the Eta Nu chapter. Dr. Gwon studies the modification of health-risk behavior among young adults and development of public health nurse workforce for better population health outcomes. Dr. Gwon has been an active member of Sigma since 2011 and served as the vice president at the Eta Nu chapter since 2017. Dr. Gwon has supervised and mentored undergraduate and graduate students for their academic and professional career goals. Dr. Gwon is a member of a number of professional research associations such as the Society for Research on Nicotine & Tobacco and a reviewer for multiple peer-reviewed scholarly journals such as American Journal of Health Behavior. Dr. Gwon is the secretary of Global Korean Nursing Foundation.

Murad Taani, PhD, MPH, RN, Assistant Professor at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee College of Nursing, is the Governance Chair of the Eta Nu chapter. Dr. Taani’s program of research focuses on physical function and self-management in older adults. He has been involved in interprofessional teaching and research related to aging, gerontological nursing, and health promotion. His research interests are focused on older adult health and illness care including physical activity, sarcopenia and muscle outcomes, self-management and community health. He specializes in quantitative methods of research. Dr. Taani has supervised and mentored undergraduate and graduate nursing students for their academic and professional career goals. Dr. Taani is a member of several professional associations, including the Gerontological Society of America, and serves as a reviewer for several peer-reviewed journals. He also serves on the editorial board of the Research in gerontological nursing journal

Chris Peters, BSN, RN is the faculty counselor. He graduated from UW-Milwaukee in 1997 and has 20 years of cardiac nursing experience. He joined UW-Milwaukee as Academic Affairs Coordinator in 2015. In 2019, he earned a graduate certificate in health professional education from UWM. He is currently pursuing his PhD in Nursing with a focus on enhancing the clinical placement process. Chris’ service activities in Sigma include International Nurse Leader Review Committee member, career counselor, and convention delegate. Chris frequently facilitates the induction ceremonies and poster symposia for the Eta Nu chapter.

 Paula Lucey, PhD, RN, CNL is a long time member of Milwaukee Nursing community having worn many hats.  Paula was formally the the CNO and COO of the now closed Doyne Hospital. Paula was recognized for the development and implementation of one of the first managed care programs for the medically indigent in the nation, an early program that was later studied as part of the Affordable Care Act.  She became the Director of Milwaukee County Health and Human Services before moving into academic nursing.  Currently she is the Program director of the MN program at UWM. Paula is an alumni of the Robert Wood Johnson Executive Nurse Fellowship. She is an alumni of UWM, Marquette and Walden Universities.  Her research interest in the area of recareering, an area she knows about personally!  In her personal life, before the virus, Paula was an vivid cruiser.  She is a professional aunt to her 6 nieces and nephews.

Kaboni W, Gondwe, PhD, RN, Assistant Professor at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee College of Nursing is a succession committee member of the Eta Nu chapter. Dr Gondwe’s research focuses on maternal stress and its impact on perinatal outcomes and is currently working on understanding how perinatal distress relates to preterm birth and the impact of this relationship on newborn outcomes. Her research fosues both on US population and Malawi population. A member of Sigma Theta Tau International since 2015 she joined UWM College of Nursing in 2018. She continues to mentor students, both graduate and undergraduate level, and is also on the board for Global Interfaith Alliance (GAIA) working on capacity building of the healthcare system in Malawi.

Sigma Theta Tau Eta Nu Chapter Awards

Eta Nu presents the following awards at the Annual Induction Ceremony.

Excellence in Education Award ($100)
Excellence in Nursing Practice Award ($100)
Karen H. Morin Leadership Award ($100)
Dr. Aaron G. Buseh Mentorship Award ($100)
Outstanding Undergraduate Student Performance Award ($300)
Outstanding Graduate Student Performance Award ($300)
Graduate Student Scholarship ($500)
Graduate Student Research Award ($1,000)
Sheryl T. Kelber Researcher Award ($1,500)




Benefits of your ETA NU membership:

  • Scholarships and Grants
  • Group or individual mentoring
  • Networking

Benefits of your STTI membership:

  • Career assistance: Advance your career, expand your knowledge, or take the next step along your career path.
  • Get connected and stay involved: Connect with other members in person or electronically. Become involved by participating in your chapter, volunteering, or attending events.
  • Continuing nursing education: Develop your professional skill set while earning continuing nursing education credits.
  • Member publications: Read Sigma publications to stay up to date with the latest research and nursing trends.
  • Products, services, and discounts: Take advantage of services, products, and partnerships developed to support you throughout your career.
  • Receive recognition: Recognize those who have contributed to nursing, and receive recognition for your successes.

For more updated benefits and resources, please go to

Current Officers- August 1, 2020

PresidentJulia Snethen
Past PresidentRuth Treisman
Vice PresidentJoshua Gwon
TreasurerVal Stonek
SecretaryPam Treisman
Governance ChairMurad Taani
Faculty CounselorChris Peters

Faculty CounselorPei-Yun Tsai
Awards ChairPei-Yun Tsai
Student InternShahad Hafez
Student InternChris Peters
Governance Committee MemberPaula Lucey
Succession Committee ChairRuth Treisman
Succession Committee memberKaboni Gondwe