From daily developments at the White House to analysis of how issues in Washington might affect Milwaukee and southeastern Wisconsin, UWM faculty members can provide expertise on a range of topics related to President Joe Biden and his administration and policies, as well as what’s happening in Congress and at the U.S. Supreme Court. This list will be updated regularly.

Politics

Kathleen Dolan
Distinguished Professor of political science
College of Letters & Science
kdolan@uwm.edu
Can discuss topics including: Gender and elections, in 2020 and in general; women candidates for office; gender gap in voting; how gender stereotypes might affect women candidates; political participation; public opinion; electoral and legislative politics.

Thomas Holbrook
Distinguished Professor and Wilder Crane Professor of Government
College of Letters & Science
holbroot@uwm.edu
Can discuss topics including: Voter behavior, political campaigns, campaign spending, forecasting national elections.

Coronavirus

Amanda Simanek
Associate professor, epidemiology
Zilber School of Public Health
simaneka@uwm.edu
Can discuss topics including: Public health strategies to manage the COVID-19 crisis.

Barbara Zabawa
Clinical assistant professor, health informatics & administration
College of Health Sciences
zabawa@uwm.edu
Can discuss topics including: Legalities of vaccination mandates in the United States; how the Constitution delegates safety and protection to the state government under the 10th Amendment; health law and compliance; U.S. health care delivery. 

Courts

Sara Benesh
Associate professor and chair, political science
College of Letters & Science
sbenesh@uwm.edu
Can discuss topics including: U.S. Supreme Court, judicial decision-making and the judiciary.

Economy

Kundan Kishor
Professor, economics
College of Letters & Science
kishor@uwm.edu
Can discuss topics including: Stimulus relief package; impact on Wall Street and housing market.

Foreign policy

Shale Horowitz
Professor, political science
College of Letters & Science
shale@uwm.edu
Can discuss topics including: Shift in approach to foreign affairs in the Biden administration; what approach Biden might take at the United Nations. Horowitz, whose research interests include East and South Asia, can speak about the importance of U.S. relationships in the region and the future of U.S.-China relations.

Great Lakes

J. Val Klump
Dean and professor
School of Freshwater Sciences
vklump@uwm.edu
Can discuss topics including: Federal efforts to address the health and ecosystem of Great Lakes.

Transportation

James Peoples
Professor, economics
College of Letters & Science
peoples@uwm.edu
Can discuss topics including: U.S. airlines industry, including industry proposals and federal efforts related to the economic health of U.S. airlines following the pandemic; future of passenger rail.