Alumni Asante-Asamani appointed Assistant Professor of Mathematics at Clarkson University

UW-Milwaukee alum Emmanuel O. Asante-Asamani has been appointed the position of assistant professor of Mathematics at Clarkson University. Asante-Asamani received his PhD in applied mathematics and master of science degree in industrial mathematics from the Mathematics Department of the University… Read More

UW-Milwaukee Undergraduate Students Complete SCUDEM V

In November 2020 two teams of undergraduate students competed in the SCUDEM V, a challenge in mathematical modeling with differential equations. Katelyn Mongerson, Olivia Peterson, and Carson Radtke worked on a problem involving the management of different conflict resolution strategies,… Read More

Jon Kahl Wins 2020 UWM Distinguished Undergraduate Teaching Award

UW-Milwaukee Atmospheric Sciences professor Jon Kahl was awarded the 2020 UWM Faculty Distinguished Undergraduate Teaching Award. Kahl has been with the UW-Milwaukee Mathematics department since 1990. You can view the Annual Fall Awards Ceremony recipients and program here.

Professor Clark Evans Featured on CBS 58 News

A December CBS 58 News Clip on La Nina Winter features UWM’s very own Clark Evans. He can be seen discussing the unique weather phenomenon here. Prof. Clark Evans is an Associate Professor with the Atmospheric Science Program at the University… Read More

Professor Jeb Willenbring Featured for Bringing App for the Blind and Visually Impaired to UWM

Professor Jeb Willenbring’s successful work to bring the Aira app for the blind and visually impaired to the UWM campus has been featured in various news outlets, click the links below to read. UWM Report News Break  Urban Milwaukee  CBS… Read More

Andrew Whetten and Joseph Paulson Awarded 1st Place in ASA’s ENVR Data Challenge 2020

Mathematical Sciences PhD graduate students Andrew Whetten and Joseph Paulson were awarded first place in the American Statistical Association’s ENVR Data Challenge 2020. They will be presenting their results at the ASA’s ENVR Workshop in Provo, UT in October 2021…. Read More

Giorgio Sarro Awarded the American Meteorological Society’s Father James B. Macelwane Annual Award in Meteorology

Giorgio Sarro has been awarded the American Meteorological Society’s Father James B. Macelwane Annual Award in Meteorology! The award carries a $1,000 stipend and partial travel support to the next American Meteorological Society annual meeting. The Macelwane award is intended “to… Read More

January InFocus Newsletter Features Professor Burns Healy

The 2021 January InFocus Newsletter constructed by the college of Letters & Science recognizes UW-Milwaukee Mathematics visiting assistant professor, Burns Healy. Burns Healy has been with the UW-Milwaukee Mathematics department since Fall of 2018. He graduated from Tufts University in… Read More

Undergraduate Students Win Outstanding Presentation Award at the Virtual Undergraduate Research Symposium

Out of the 162 total judged presentations, three Mathematical Sciences undergraduate students were selected out of 13 that garnered recognition as being truly exceptional from both of its judges. The three undergraduate “Outstanding Presentation award” winners are Noah Graff, Nathan… Read More

December 2018 Mathematical Sciences Recognition

UW-Milwaukee Mathematical Sciences Professor Jay Beder, Professor Chao Zhu, and Atmospheric Science Alumnus Chris Nelson were recognized for their accomplishments and works during the month of December. Dr. Jay Beder, Mathematical Sciences Professor, reported to WISN 12 News in a… Read More