UWM’s best honored at Fall Awards Ceremony

More than two dozen UWM faculty and staff members were recognized for their outstanding service to UWM during the annual Fall Awards presentation on Oct. 13. Many of the honorees are from the College of Letters & Science, and they are listed below. For a full description of awards and awardees, view the UWM Report. The ceremony was held in the UWM Student Union Ballroom and was livestreamed. The event can be viewed online.

UWM Distinguished Undergraduate Teaching Awards

Aki Roberts, associate professor of sociology

UWM Distinguished Public Service Award

Leslie Harris, associate professor of communication; Portia Cobb, associate professor of film, video, animation and new genres; and Erin Sahlstein Parcell, professor and chair of communication, on the “Voices of Gun Violence” project.

UWM Distinguished University Service Award

Shevaun Watson, associate professor of English

Clark Evans, professor of atmospheric science

Hanjoo Lee, professor of psychology and director of the Anxiety Disorders Laboratory

Office of Research and UWM Foundation Research in the Humanities Awards

Elana Levine, professor of English

Mark Netzloff, professor, literature and cultural theory coordinator

University Staff Outstanding Service Awards

Lauren J. Wieczorek, academic department specialist/department manager, Department of Geosciences

Office of Research and UWM Foundation Research Awards

Ira Driscoll, associate professor of psychology

Carolyn Eichner, associate professor of history & women’s and gender studies

Clark Evans, professor of atmospheric science

Nicholas Silvaggi, associate professor of chemistry

Office of Research/UWM Foundation/Senior Research Awards

Anne Basting, professor of English

Bonnie Klein-Tasman, professor of psychology

Chia Youyee Vang, professor of history, interim chief diversity, equity and inclusion officer

Academic Staff Outstanding Teaching Awards

Kimberly Hernandez, lecturer, comparative ethnic studies

Matthew Knachel, senior lecturer, philosophy

Ali Gattoni, assistant faculty associate, communication