SOIS proudly offers funding opportunities awarded for both academic achievement and financial need to students entering or enrolled in the MLIS program.


Scholarships are awarded based on the availability of funding.

Application Based Scholarships

Application Deadline: March 1

How to Apply:
Please apply for all application based scholarship opportunities through UWM’s Panther Scholarship Portal. 


Arthur and Irene Burckel Scholarship

Award Amount: $1,500 Non-Renewable

Description: This award funds scholarships to graduate students enrolled in the School of Information Studies.

Ted Samore Scholarship

Award Amount: $2,000 Non-Renewable

Description: Named in honor of Professor Theodore (Ted) Samore, who retired at the conclusion of the 1989-90 academic year after 24 years of dedicated service in the field of Library Science. Samore, who set a high bar for research in the field of Library Science, was known for his commitment to students as a teacher and mentor.

H.W. Wilson Foundation Scholarship

Award Amount: $2,500 Non-Renewable

Description: Awarded to an entering or continuing MLIS student with an expressed interest in information technology or library automation.

Mary McAndrews Scholarship

Award Amount: $1,000 Non-Renewable

Description: This scholarship is awarded to an MLIS student based on academic merit and financial need.

Timothy L. Ericson Scholarship

Award Amount: $1,000 Non-Renewable

Description: The Timothy L. Ericson Scholarship in Archival Studies honors the founder and long-term Director of the SOIS Archival Studies Program, Timothy L. Ericson, whose contributions to SOIS have supported his colleagues, inspired his students and brought many new and talented individuals to the archives profession.

Barbara G. Bartley Scholarship

Award Amount: $2,000 Non-Renewable

Dean’s Scholarship

Award Amount: $1000 Non-Renewable

Description: The SOIS Alumni Association awards this scholarship to a full-time graduate student based on academic achievement.

Non-Application Based Scholarships

All students entering the MLIS & MSIST programs who meet the eligibility criteria will be considered for these awards. Students admitted to the School of Information Studies by the early deadline of the desired term of admission (March 1 for Fall, November 1st for Spring) receive first consideration for the awards listed below.

Graduate Chancellor’s Student Award (MLIS/MSIST)

Award Amount: $5,000 (distributed between two semesters)
This award is subject to availability of funds.

Description: Awarded to incoming MLIS and MSIST students

I have been awarded a scholarship, now what?

Award recipients are notified prior to the semester the award is granted via UWM email and/or letter mailed to the address listed in PAWS. Check your PAWS account before the semester starts to ensure the funds have dispersed. Full tuition is due by the first day of classes.

External Funding

UWM Graduate School Funding Sources

Please visit the UWM Graduate School website for complete details on Graduate Assistantships, Fellowships, Travel Awards, Student Loans and On-Campus Employment opportunities.

UWM Graduate School: Types of Funding

External Funding Sources

WLA Scholarships & Grants

WLA Scholarships & Grants
(WLAF Library Education Scholarships are available for students pursuing a MLIS at UW-Milwaukee SOIS).

ALA Scholarships