College honors three retirees after many years of service

From left: Mark Johnston, Paula Rhyner, and Susan Yorio

From left: Mark Johnston, Paula Rhyner, and Susan Yorio
UWM Photos/Pete Amland

The College of Health Sciences celebrated the distinguished careers of three faculty members who will retire from UWM after this semester.

Each of them was praised for accomplishments at the College and at UWM.

Mark Johnston, PhD, FACRM

Professor, Department of Occupational Science and Technology

Johnston has been at the College for 11 years and during his time as a professor he has been a prominent outcomes researcher in rehabilitation sciences and a leader in interdisciplinary rehabilitation research. He is also known for his extensive and immersive understanding of health and rehabilitation systems

Johnston is a Fellow of the American Congress of Rehabilitation Medicine with over $4.5 million of successful research grants in rehabilitation and over 100 respected publications, including seminal papers in rehabilitation outcomes.

Johnston’s long career at the College, and at previous academic positions, has been honored many times. Among the highest tributes are:  Lifetime Achievement Award (2011) American Congress of Rehabilitation Medicine, Brain Injury Interdisciplinary Special Interest Group and Elected Fellow (2004) of the American Congress of Rehabilitation Medicine.

Paula Rhyner, PhD, CCC-SLP, BCS-CL, ASHA Fellow

Deputy to the Provost for Continuing Education & Outreach and Professor, Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders

Rhyner has been at the College and UWM for 34 years and has served as a valuable leader in many roles in her department, the College and the University. She has been a longtime teaching faculty member and mentor for her department. She also served as the College’s Associate Dean for Research and Graduate Studies and as Interim Dean.

At UWM, Rhyner was the Coordinator of the UWM Faculty Mentoring Program for many years.  Most recently, she was Deputy to the Provost for Continuing Education and Outreach, overseeing the UWM School of Continuing Education, which is the largest provider of noncredit continuing education in southeastern Wisconsin.

Rhyner has been the recipient of numerous professional honors and awards. Most noteworthy are: Frank R. Kleffner Lifetime Clinical Career Award (2015) Wisconsin Speech-Language-Hearing Association (WSHA); Elected Fellow (2011) American Speech-Language-Hearing Association (ASHA); Dean’s Research Award (2000 and 2010) College of Health Sciences; and Honors of the Association (2005) WSHA.

Susan Yorio, MS, CCC-SLP

Clinical Associate Professor, Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders

Yorio has been with the College for 10 years. Her primary responsibility was to supervise undergraduate and graduate student clinicians in the Department’s on-campus speech and language clinic. She proved to be a strong teacher and advisor to students, and was appreciated by many.

Her departmental duties included serving as chair of the Climate Committee and as an advisor of the UWM National Student Speech, Language and Hearing Association (NSSLHA) chapter. Her service at the College included the Black and Gold Committee and the Faculty-Student Affairs Committee.

Yorio’s strong reputation is demonstrated by the awards she received, namely the Lifetime Achievement Award (2017) Wisconsin Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology Association (WSHA); Student Mentor Award (2015) WSHA; and the Byoung Kim Teaching Excellence Award (2012) UWM College of Health Sciences.

At the recent annual CHS Awards and Recognition Event, each retiree was presented with a keepsake wooden clock with a special inscription. CHS Dean Ron Cisler congratulated the retirees, “Please join me in showing our appreciation for the excellent work contributions by our colleagues over so many years. We extend our best wishes to each of them for their post-employment activities.”