College honors faculty and staff for exemplary service and leadership

Faculty and staff pose with their awards.

From left to right: Professor and Chair Ann Swartz, IS Comprehensive Services Senior Dario Elia, Professor and Chair Raymond Fleming, Clinical Associate Professor Kathleen Wangerin, Associate Professor Victoria Moerchen, Associate Professor Jennifer Earl-Boehm, and Professor Scott Strath. Clinical Assistant Professor Kathleen Olewinski was unable to attend.

This month, at a special all-College Recognition Ceremony, several worthy individuals received awards for exceptional work. College of Health Sciences Dean and Professor Ron A. Cisler, PhD, opened the festivities, “We have so many hard working faculty and staff here at the college. This is our opportunity to reflect on the year, our work and our service to the campus and the community, and to recognize those who went above and beyond.”

Those receiving special awards were:

College of Health Sciences Ambassador Award

Kathleen M. Olewinski, MS, RHIA, NHA, FACHE, clinical assistant professor, Department of Health Informatics & Administration

She was singled out for advocating for the College locally, nationally and internationally.

College of Health Sciences C.A.R.E.S Award

Kathleen Wangerin, MA, CCC-SLP, clinical associate professor, Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders

She was chosen for exhibiting Collegial spirit; Attitude that is positive; Respect for others; Exceptional dedication to the College and Superb service to students.

Dean’s Award for Outstanding Service

Victoria A. Moerchen, PT, PhD, associate professor, Department of Kinesiology, Integrative Health Care & Performance Unit

Dario Elia, IS Comprehensive Services Senior, Business Administration & Technology Operations

They were selected for making an outstanding contribution to the service mission of the college, and demonstrating outstanding character and motivation in promoting the college and its activities.

Dean’s Research Award

Scott J. Strath, PhD, ASCM Fellow, professor, Department of Kinesiology, Exercise Science & Health Promotion Unit

He was praised for exemplary conduct in the pursuit of quality research and scholarship as evidenced by publications and research communications, grant funding, innovation, creativity and discovery.

College of Health Sciences Leadership Award

Raymond Fleming, PhD, professor, Department of Psychology and Department of Biomedical Sciences

Jennifer E. Earl-Boehm, PhD, ATC, FNATA, associate professor, Department of Kinesiology, Integrative Health Care & Performance Unit

They were honored for outstanding acts, service and achievements that exemplify and support the college’s Mission, Vision, Values and Strategic Plan.

Byoung Kim Teaching Excellence Award

Ann M. Swartz, PhD, ACSM Fellow, professor and chair, Department of Kinesiology, Exercise Science & Health Promotion Unit

This special award is given to an outstanding teacher, by the student body, based upon those qualities that help students reach their academic potential — motivation, inspiration and encouragement.