UWM Teaching Fellow Award recipients announced

From top left: Theresa Beaumier, Lauren Clark, Iruoma Ezumba, Austin Harris, Leah Johnson, Vijaya Tamla Rai.

The UWM Center for Excellence in Teaching and Learning and the Graduate School recently announced the winners of the 2021 UWM Teaching Fellow Award, which recognizes graduate students who have achieved outstanding success as students and teachers. This year’s recipients (all doctoral students):

  • Theresa Beaumier, Sociology
  • Lauren Clark, Linguistics
  • Iruoma Ezumba, Communication
  • Austin Harris, Atmospheric Science
  • Leah Johnson, Chemistry
  • Vijaya Tamla Rai, Sociology

"While we were only able to award six fellowships this year, we had an incredible field of talented candidates—every one a dedicated instructor who made a meaningful contribution to student success during this difficult year," said Lane Sunwall, CETL teaching and learning consultant and Active Teaching Lab organizer.

Awardees possess the following qualities:

  • Passionate teachers who have a love of learning and helping students learn. They demonstrate sustained commitment to pedagogy and teaching excellence.
  • Effective teachers with a proven track record of implementing effective, learner-centered, and innovative teaching methods.
  • Excellent facilitators who know how to effectively guide learning through thoughtful questioning, rapport building, and active listening.
  • Effective communicators who are attentive, timely, empathetic, and thoughtful in their communications with students.
  • Experienced trainers with a proven track record of working with and helping other teachers, and/or a commitment to improving teaching on campus beyond their own classroom.

In addition to receiving an $800 award, each winner will serve as instructors at CETL’s 2021 New TA Orientation, which will welcome 200-250 new teaching assistants from across the University.