Three Minute Thesis

3MT 2019 main image

3MT Finals
Held on April 10, 2019
3:00 pm – 5:00 pm
UWM campus in the Wisconsin Room of the Student Union
2200 East Kenwood Blvd
Milwaukee, WI

What is the Three Minute Thesis (3MT)?

The University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee Graduate School, Office of Research, and UWM Research Foundation, held their 2nd Annual Three Minute Thesis (3MT®) event. Developed by The University of Queensland, 3MT has been adopted in 66 countries and cultivates students’ academic, presentation, and research communication skills. This unique academic competition is open to all doctoral students and students in a terminal master’s degree program (Master of Fine Arts degree) currently working on a dissertation or thesis. The competition supports graduate students’ capacity to effectively explain their research in three minutes, in a language appropriate to a non-specialist audience.

UWM doctoral students

Why should I participate in 3MT?


Awards and recognition

Finalists delivered their presentations on April 10th, 2019 from 3:00 pm – 5:00 pm in the Wisconsin Room of the Union on the UWM campus. Participants were judged by a panel of judges competing for the following awards:
  • 1st place (gold) $1500 – Abel Mathew
  • 2nd place (silver) $1000 – Bethany Forseth
  • 3rd place (bronze) $500 – Chandrima Ghosh

Eligibility and Participation

  • Participants must be enrolled in a UWM doctoral program or terminal master’s program (Master of Fine Arts degree)
  • Participants must compete in a preliminary qualifying round
  • Finalists are chosen by the judges to compete in the final round

Thank you!

Thank you to the graduate students that participated and made this event possible. Thank you also to our faculty and staff judges from our qualifying rounds: Tina Freiburger, John Heywood, Michael Liston, Kristen Murphy, Alexa Anderson, Marija Gajdardziska-Josifovska, Lane Hall, Rebecca Headley, Gabriella Pinter, Rachel Schiffman, Aims McGuinness, Jennifer Kibicho, Andrew Kincaid, Sandeep Gopalakrishnan. A special thank you to our Master of Ceremonies, Kathy Mykleby and to our 3MT Finals judges: Matt Flynn, Attorney, Retired – Quarles & Brady LLP; Carlene Julius, Director of Business Development at New Resources Consulting; Kira Lafond, Market President and Publisher, Milwaukee Business Journal; John Miller, Founder and Principal at Arenberg Holdings.
For more information about the 3MT®, contact Steve Strehlow at