8/18/2017 North of Ascension Island 6.8

Earthquake Details Seismogram Explanation
Location: North of Ascension Island P-wave: 03:11:28 UTC; 10:11:28 pm CDT (local 8/17/2017)
Date: August 18, 2017 S-wave: 03:21:29 UTC; 10:21:29 pm CDT (local 8/17/2017)
Time: 02:59:22 UTC; 9:59:22 pm CDT (local 8/17/2017) The vertical axis is in units of displacement in centimeters.
Latitude: 1.10 S The horizontal axis is in units of time in seconds.
Longitude: 13.66 W The beginning of the file is the origin of the event.
Magnitude: 6.8 Mw
Depth: 30.5 km
Distance:  79.31 deg (~5,476 miles from Milwaukee)