8/24/2018 Peru-Brazil Border Region 7.1

Earthquake Details Seismogram Explanation
Location: Peru-Brazil Border Region P-wave: 09:12:48 UTC; 4:12:48 am CDT
Date: August 24, 2018 S-wave: 09:19:52 UTC; 4:19:52 am CDT
Time: 09:04:06 UTC; 4:04:06 am CDT The vertical axis is in units of displacement in centimeters.
Latitude: 11.04 S The horizontal axis is in units of time in seconds.
Longitude: 70.82 W The beginning of the file is the origin of the event.
Magnitude: 7.1 Mw This was a very deep event that did not produce any appreciable surface waves.
Depth: 640.5 km
Distance:  56.32 deg (~3,889 miles from Milwaukee)