33km SE of Ofunato, Japan 6.8 Mw

150512211258
  • 150512211258_inset
  • 15051221
Earthquake Details Seismogram Explanation
Location: 33km SE of Ofunato, Japan
Date: May 15, 2015
Time: 21:12:58 UTC; 4:12:48 pm CDT
Latitude: 38.90 N
Longitude: 142.03 E
Magnitudes: 6.8 Mw
Depth: 45.5 km
Distance: 86.4 deg (5,966 miles from Milwaukee)
P-wave arrival time: 21:25:35 UTC; 4:25:35 pm CDT.
S-wave arrival time: 21:36:08 UTC; 4:36:08 pm CDT.
The vertical axis is in units of displacement in centimeters.
The horizontal axis is in units of time in seconds.
The beginning of the file is the origin of the event.