12/28/2016 29km WSW of Hawthorne, Nevada 5.7

161228081800
161228081800_inset 16122808

Earthquake Details Seismogram Explanation
Location: 29km WSW of Hawthorne, Nevada P-wave arrival time: 08:23:13 UTC; 2:23:13 am CST
Date: December 28, 2016 S-wave arrival time:08:27:29 UTC; 2:27:29 am CST
Time: 08:18:00 UTC; 2:18:00 am CST The vertical axis is in units of displacement in centimeters.
Latitude: 38.56 N The horizontal axis is in units of time in seconds.
Longitude: 118.85 W The beginning of the file is the origin of the event.
Magnitude: 5.7 Mw  This is actually 3 events. The first two being twin 5.7 events that occurred within 4 minutes of each other and another occurring about an hour later measuring 5.5
Depth: 12 km
Distance: 23.8 deg (~7,856 miles from Milwaukee)