1/30/2016 Kamchatka Peninsula, Russia 7.0

160130032510
  • 160130032510_inset
  • 16013003
Earthquake Details Seismogram Explanation
Location: Kamchatka Peninsula, Russia P-wave arrival time: 03:35:49 UTC; 9:35:49 pm CST (local 1/29/2016)
Date: January 30, 2016 S-wave arrival time: 03:44:34 UTC; 9:44:34 pm CST (local 1/29/2016)
Time: 03:25:10 UTC; 9:25:10 pm CST (local 1/29/2016) The vertical axis is in units of displacement in centimeters.
Latitude: 54.04 N The horizontal axis is in units of time in seconds.
Longitude: 158.51 E The beginning of the file is the origin of the event.
Magnitudes: 7.0 Mw  this was a deep event that did not produce very large surface waves.
Depth: 159 km
Distance: 67.61 deg (~4668 miles from Milwaukee)