Current News

The Creative Writing Program is proud to celebrate the many successes of students past and present.

Learn more about our students’ 2021 – 2022 News and Previous News.

Congratulations to Sean Williamson (BA 2015), whose Never the Hero” (2021) won the Hamlin Garland Award from the Beloit Fiction Journal.

Sean Enfield (PhD in progress) will publish his essay collection, Holy American Burnout!, with Split/Lip Press in December 2023. Congratulations, Sean!

Jessica Drake-Thomas (PhD in progress) has a new occult poetry collection, Bad Omens, out from Querencia Press.

Ted Snyder (MS, Education, in progress) has three poems appearing in the fall edition of the Georgia Review.

Literary journal Copper Nickel has nominated Molly Beckwith Gutmans’s story Amelies for a Pushcart Prize and awarded it its Editor’s Prize in Prose.

Lee Hodge (PhD in progress) has two poems in the latest issue of Granta.

Tyler Odeneal (BA, 2019), currently an MFA candidate studying fiction writing at Columbia College Chicago, has won a $3,000 scholarship from the Friends of American Writers. Tyler’s fiction and poetry have either been published or will soon be published in Furrow Literary Magazine; Genre: Urban Arts; 580 Split; Masks Literary Magazine; and elsewhere. He was also a finalist for the 2021 Arthur Flowers Flash Fiction Prize.

Congratulations to Camilla Lee (PhD in progress), who has a story, “Jeddah,” forthcoming in Novus Literary Arts Journal and to Brookes Moody (PhD, 2021), whose poem, “Riven Rock,” appears in volume 50 of Mississippi Review.

Soham Patel (PhD, 2018) is Associate Poetry Editor and Book Review Editor for Georgia Review.

Siwar Masannat (PhD, 2020) is Managing Editor of Prairie Schooner and the African Poetry Book Fund at the University of Nebraska in Lincoln.

Congratulations to Michael Welch (MA, 2019), who was recently named editor-in-chief of the Chicago Review of Books.

Monica Youn selected Beatrice Szymkowiak’s (PhD, 2022) book, B/RD, for the Agha Shahid Ali Prize in Poetry, which is awarded annually and sponsored by The University of Utah Press and The University of Utah Department of English. The book will be published in Spring 2023.

Phong Nguyen (PhD, 2007) returns to UWM this fall with his celebrated new novel, The Bronze Drum, for a reading on October 13. He’ll then continue on to the Wisconsin Book Festival in Madison and read there on October 14.

Entry Level, the debut story collection of Wendy Wimmer (MA, 2008), was selected by Deesha Philyaw, author of The Secret Lives of Church Ladies, as the winner of the 2021 Autumn House Fiction Prize. It will be published this fall.

Congratulations to Ghassan Zeineddine (PhD, 2016), whose debut story collection, Dearborn, will come out from Tin House Books in Fall 2023.

Congratulations to three recent grads who start tenure-track positions this fall: Su Cho (Clemson University), Raymond Deeren (Austin Peay State University), and Elizabeth Hoover (Webster University).

Karen Lee Boren (PhD, 2001) has published her fourth book, a novel, Secret Waltz (Flexible Press). She is a full professor of English and creative writing at Rhode Island College in Providence, RI.

Joshua Hren (BA, MA, PhD, 2011), the author of several books of short fiction, poetry, and criticism, has published his first novel: Infinite Regress (Angelico Press). Hren is co-founder of the MFA program at the University of Saint Thomas in Houston.

Congratulations to Jehane Sharah (PhD in progress), whose gothic novella The House on Farragut Street was longlisted for the First Pages Prize.

Nikki Wallschlaeger (BA, 2011) has taught at the University of Iowa’s MFA program as a Visiting Assistant Professor in Poetry and is the author of multiple books and chapbooks. Her most recent, Waterbaby, was published by Copper Canyon Press in 2021.