National Academy of Inventors and UWM announce NAI Fellow

Pradeep Rohatgi was recently designated as a Fellow of the National Academy of Inventors.

Dr. Pradeep Rohatgi, Materials Science & Engineering, was recently designated as a Fellow of the National Academy of Inventors.

Pradeep Rohatgi, Distinguished Professor of Materials Engineering at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee (UWM), has been named a Fellow of the National Academy of Inventors (NAI).

Election to NAI Fellow status is a high professional distinction accorded to academic inventors who have demonstrated a prolific spirit of innovation by creating inventions that have made a tangible impact on quality of life, economic development, and the welfare of society.

The academic inventors and innovators elected to the rank of NAI Fellow are named inventors on U.S. patents and were nominated by their peers.

The holder of 20 U.S. patents, Rohatgi is a world leader in synthesis of metal matrix composites (MMCs), high-performance metal blends that are cheaper, lighter and stronger than the original alloys. He created several MMCs that have been used widely in electromechanical machinery, thermal management applications and the transportation sector.

His research on green materials includes lightweight self-lubricating materials that conserve energy in transportation, lead-free copper composites for the plumbing industry, and the use of fly ash (a waste byproduct of power generation) for the synthesis of ultra-light, energy-absorbing and self-healing metal composites.

Rohatgi has received millions of dollars in research funding and has been a consultant to the World Bank and the United Nations on materials policy. He is a fellow of 11 professional institutions.

The Deputy U.S. Commissioner for Patent Operations, from the United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO), will induct the NAI Fellows during the 4th Annual Conference of the National Academy of Inventors, on March 20, 2015, at the California Institute of Technology in Pasadena.

To read more on the National Academy of Inventors and this great honor please read the rest of the story on UWM’s News page.