The Center for Mathematics and Science Education Research (CMSER) coordinates research, teacher education, curriculum development and implementation, and dissemination efforts in mathematics and science education, and fosters rich partnerships with educational institutions and organizations throughout the Milwaukee metropolitan area.

About the Center

The Center for Mathematics and Science Education Research (CMSER), founded in 1985, works to advance the Milwaukee Idea and the urban mission of University of Wisconsin – Milwaukee by:

  • Coordinating research, teacher education, curriculum development and implementation, and dissemination efforts in mathematics and science education.
  • Fostering rich partnerships with educational institutions and organizations throughout the Milwaukee metropolitan area.
  • Focusing attention on the issues of teaching and learning mathematics and science from preschool through college.

CMSER Partnerships

Many different partnerships have added to the value of the work of the Center for Mathematics and Science Education Research. Some of those partnerships include:

Contact Us

Center Directors

Dr. DeAnn Huinker
Director
Department of Teaching & Learning
huinker@uwm.edu

Dr. Kevin McLeod
Assistant Director
Department of Mathematical Sciences
kevinm@uwm.edu

Faculty and Staff Associates

Dr. Craig Berg
Department of Teaching & Learning
caberg@uwm.edu

Ms. Melissa Hedges
Department of Teaching & Learning
mhedges@uwm.edu

Dr. Henry Kepner
Department of Teaching & Learning
kepner@uwm.edu

Ms. Connie Laughlin
Department of Teaching & Learning
laughli2@uwm.edu

Dr. Tracy John Posnanski
Department of Teaching & Learning
tjp@uwm.edu

Dr. Michael Steele
Department of Teaching & Learning
steelem@uwm.edu

Center Staff

Peggy Kuhnz
Associate Administrative Program Specialist
kuhnzpa@uwm.edu