ACCESS is a project made possible through a Department of Education Supporting Effective Educator Development (SEED) Grant. The project includes three distinct but interconnected efforts that promote a highly effective diverse teaching staff able to implement culturally responsive practices (CRP).

1. Partnership with Milwaukee Public Schools to Support Culturally Responsive Practices

The first effort works with twelve Milwaukee Public Schools (MPS) as they become models of CRP. As models of practice, these sites will demonstrate effective CRP instruction in each classroom and a school culture that supports and drives effective CRP. These sites will serve as host sites for UWM student teachers providing an immersive high quality clinical experience in CRP.

2. Alignment of Culturally Responsive Teaching in UWM Teacher Certification Programs

The second effort improves UWM practices through alignment of CRP in all teacher certification programs. While all UWM programs currently include CRP content and skills, the ACCESS grant allows the SOE to align CRP across all programs with depth, scope and sequence.

3. Support of the Professional Licensure with Undergraduate Support (PLUS) Program

The third effort creates a pathway for para professionals to become teachers through the PLUS program. This pathway is a partnership with MPS, MATC and UWM infused with CRP. ACCESS provides tuition, other financial supports and a coordinator to support participants.

Contact Us

Principal Investigators

Kristen Taylor, PhD
Director
Office of Clinical Experiences
gurtner@uwm.edu
(414) 229-4352

Donna L. Pasternak, PhD
Professor, English Education
Department of Curriculum & Instruction
dlp2@uwm.edu
(414) 229-4592

Program Manager

Jennifer Knackert
Program Manager
knacker2@uwm.edu
(414) 229-4371

Faculty and Staff Associates

Maggie Bartlett, PhD
Assistant Professor, Special Education Early Childhood
bartletm@uwm.edu

Leanne Mary Evans, PhD
Assistant Professor, Early Childhood Education
levans@uwm.edu

Tania Habeck, PhD
Associate Professor, Reading Education
mertzman@uwm.edu

Kelly Saunders
saunde23@uwm.edu
Culturally Responsive Practices Facilitator

Nakeysha Roberts Washington
Culturally Responsive Practices Facilitator
droberts@uwm.edu

Joelle Worm
Director, ArtsECO
wormj@uwm.edu

Graduate Assistants

Sarah Harris
CRP Facilitator
harrissd@uwm.edu

Kelly Kloth
Research Assistant
krkloth@uwm.edu

John Milton Knapp
Research Assistant
knappj@uwm.edu

Calvin Lewis
CRP Facilitator
lewis2@uwm.edu

Alanna Malloy
Research Assistant
amalloy@uwm.edu

Crystasany Turner
Research Assistant
crturner@uwm.edu

Molly A. Wolk
CRP Facilitator
mawolk@uwm.edu

Xin Wu
CRP Facilitator
wu59@uwm.edu