Cooperating Teachers Honored at Annual Gala

2019 award recipients at Cooperating Teachers Gala.

A number of teachers received Meemic grants at the event. Pictured above are (front row): Bob Milosch of Meemic, Tanya Jamieson, Cathleen Mundt, Mark Hoffmann, Diana Jones, Jodi Tremarello, Susan Schwabe, Christina Martello, Deborah Brooks. At rear are Dean Alan Shoho and Dan Stefanovich of Meemic.

The University of Wisconsin School of Education took 150 teachers to dinner May 7 at the Italian Community Center. The Gala dinner was made possible through a donation from the Meemic Foundation.

The Gala is an opportunity to say thank you to the many cooperating teachers who generously share their classrooms with the School’s teacher candidates each year, according to Christie Peters and Corby Anderson of UWM’s Office of Clinical Experiences.

Hundreds of students from introductory classes to student teachers spend numerous weeks in local elementary and high school classrooms every year.

“Cooperating teachers spend hours behind the scenes mentoring our students to support our efforts building this profession,” said Peters. “This work is oftentimes unrecognized and we’d like our teachers to know just how grateful we are for their continued dedication to the School of Education.”

  • Meemic representatives included Dan Stefanovich, Roy Hinz, and Bob Milosch.
    Meemic representatives included Dan Stefanovich, Roy Hinz, and Bob Milosch.

Each program was asked to nominate an award recipient. Recipients were recognized with an award/certificate from UWM and an Amazon gift card. Meemic also raffled off two larger gift cards, with all teachers eligible for that raffle.

SOE Dean Alan Shoho welcomed the teachers. The guest speaker was Dr. Tina Owen-Moore, who founded Milwaukee’s Alliance School with a mission of creating a bully-free atmosphere. She recently received her doctorate of education leadership from Harvard and published a book about the Alliance School and its mission. In addition to hosting the event, the Meemic Foundation made grant awards to a number of the cooperating teachers.

They included:

  • Deborah Brooks, Art Education, Greenfield High School
  • Christina Martello, Exceptional Education, Irving Elementary School
  • Susan Schwabe, Exceptional Education-Early Childhood Education, Emerson Elementary School
  • Jodi Tremarello, Early Childhood Education, Ninety-Fifth Street School
  • Diana Jones, English, Bradley Tech High School
  • Mark Hoffmann, Mathematics, South Milwaukee High School
  • Tanya Jamieson, Elementary Education, Cooper Elementary School
  • Callie Mikolajczyk, Science, Mahone Middle School
  • Cathleen Mundt, Social Studies, Doerfler Elementary School

The Meemic Foundation is funded through Meemic Insurance Company and focuses on supporting the efforts of educators. The insurance company was founded in 1950 to serve the special insurance needs of teachers.

If you would like to help fund Student Success, please visit the Give to UWM webpage.

Or contact Christina Makal McCaffery at (414) 229-4963 or to explore opportunities to support students, ensure research excellence and enable ongoing collaborations with community schools and organizations.