

DEPARTMENT OF COMMUNICATION

Awards & Recognition Graduate Ceremony 2020-2021

May 7, 2021 ~ 6:00-6:45 pm (virtual on Teams)

GRADUATE HONOREES

 $\sim \sim$

RHETORICAL LEADERSHIP CERTIFICATE

2020

Jessica Gehrke Taylor Katz David Lee Cassidy Rentmeester Nathaniel Repay Lisa Roth **2021** Alexandra Parr Balaram Alisa Davis Kristin Wagel Ryan Paul Winn

DEPARTMENT OF COMMUNICATION RECOGNITION AWARD 2020

Research: Sabrina Fuller - MA Service: Alisa Davis – MA Teaching: Nathaniel Repay - MA

DEPARTMENT OF COMMUNICATION RECOGNITION AWARD 2021

Research: Emily Godager - PhD Service: Benjamin Davis - PhD Teaching: Samentha Sepulveda - PhD

MELVIN H. MILLER GRADUATE AWARD – MA 2020

Research: Nathaniel Repay Service: Cassidy Rentmeester Teaching: Sabrina Fuller

MELVIN H. MILLER GRADUATE AWARD – PhD 2020

Research:	Taylor Katz
Service:	Jacki Willenborg
Teaching:	Michael Cody Coker

MELVIN H. MILLER GRADUATE AWARD – MA 2021

Research: Kari Pink Teaching: Rachel Zawicki

MELVIN H. MILLER GRADUATE AWARD – PhD 2021

Research: Jessica Kahlow Service: Michael Cody Coker Teaching: Benjamin Davis

MELVIN H. MILLER AWARD FOR TOP COMMUNICATION GPA 2020

Sabrina Fuller, Masters Giselle (Zhixin), Masters Michael Cody Coker, Doctoral Jessica Kahlow, Doctoral Lisa Roth, Doctoral

MELVIN H. MILLER AWARD FOR TOP COMMUNICATION GPA 2021

Emily Gerlikovski, Masters Allyson Hayden, Masters Joshua Holt, Masters Carrie Jones, Masters Sue Lim, Masters Kari Pink, Masters Jesus Rivera, Masters Michael Cody Coker, Doctoral Jessica Kahlow, Doctoral Megan Montgomery, Doctoral Lisa Roth, Doctoral

DEPARTMENT SCHOLARSHIP AWARDEES

DEPARTMENT OF COMMUNICATION RESEARCH GRANT Spring 2021

Mackenzie Boedeker & Jacki Willenborg (collaborators) Emily Gerlikovski Carrie Jones Sierra Kane Dathan Simpson

AMELIA LUCAS TRUST FUND Fall 2019 Nathaniel Repay

Spring 2020 Jessica Kahlow

Fall 2020 Danielle Romo

JOHN PAUL JONES MEMORIAL TRUST Fall 2019

Comfort Adebayo Mackenzie Boedeker Nathaniel Repay

Spring 2020

Mackenzie Boedeker Giselle (Zhixin) Pu Megan Orcholski

Fall 2020

Sue Lim Jillian Schemenauer

RENEE A. MEYERS SCHOLARSHIP Fall 2019 Riley Richards

Fall 2020 Jessica Kahlow

GRADUATE DEGREES

MASTER'S DEGREE Spring 2020

Sabrina Fuller Image, Industry, and Ink: Communication of Tattoo Policies by Human Resource Professionals Major Professor: Sarah Riforgiate

Giselle (Zhixin) Pu Serendipitous News Discovery Increases News Consumption in News Recommender Systems Major Professor: Erin Ruppel Cassidy Rentmeester *M.A.P.P.* Major Professor: Leslie Harris

Nathaniel Repay *M.A.P.P.* Major Professor: Kathryn Olson

Spring 2021

Alisa Davis Voices of the Say Her Name Campaign: Theorizing an Activist Rhetoric of Blame Major Professor: Sara VanderHaagen

Sue Lim

Adoption of a Self-Care Therapy Mobile App: Application of Uses and Gratification Theory, Self-Efficacy, and Response Efficacy Major Professor: Mike Allen

> Alexandra Parr Balaram *M.A.P.P.* Major Professor: Leslie Harris

DOCTORAL DEGREE Spring 2020

Tosin Adebayo Maternal Healthcare Experiences of African American Women: A Relational Dialectics Perspective Major Professor: Erin Parcell

Megan Orcholski

'Would You Say You Had Sex if...': Rhetorical Meaning-Making Within Intimate Encounters and Their Discourses at the Macro, Meso, and Micro Levels Major Professor: Leslie Harris Angela Victor Communicating About Routine Childhood Vaccines: Meta-Analysis of Parental Attitudes, Behaviors, & Vaccine Hesitancy Major Professor: Mike Allen

Spring 2021

Jessica Kahlow

Improving Neurodiverse Relationships: Comparing Relational Quality and Maintenance Channels in Individuals With and Without ADHD Major Professor: Erin Ruppel

Riley Richards

To Disclose or Not Disclose: The Proposition and Test of the Sexual Self-Disclosure Decision Model (SS-DDM) Major Professor: Erin Ruppel

> Samentha Sepulveda An Internatural Communication Study of Identity Within Nonprofit Animal Shelters Major Professor: Sarah Riforgiate

> > \sim

Thank You To:

Amelia Lucas Amelia Lucas Trust Fund

John Paul Jones John Paul Jones Memorial Trust

Melvin H. Miller Melvin H. Miller Scholarship

The Family of Renee A. Meyers

Renee A. Meyers Scholarship

The Department offers a special thank you to the Awards Committee – Erin Parcell, Sarah Riforgiate, Kim Omachinski, and Ashia Gripentrog – for coordinating this 2020-2021 Awards Ceremony