Call for Nominations – Joanne Lazirko Award for Innovative Use of Learning Technologies

In memory of Joanne Lazirko, Lecturer in the Lubar School of Business, an annual award has been established to celebrate her passion for teaching and successful use of learning technologies in her classes.

The Lazirko Award bestowed by the Provost’s Office in consultation with CETL recognizes innovation in the effective integration of learning technologies to promote student engagement and collaboration, active learning, and critical thinking. Technology-enhanced teaching recognized by the Lazirko Award is particularly meant to identify models and practices of pedagogy that may be productively used by other instructors. All full-time faculty and academic staff with no less than three years of service at UWM who routinely use learning technologies in their teaching to accomplish these ends are eligible for consideration.

Nominations for the Lazirko Award may be submitted by UWM students, faculty, staff, departments, and organizations. Nomination letters must detail the learning technologies used by the nominee and the evidence supporting the candidate’s pedagogical effectiveness. The nomination should focus upon no more than two courses that demonstrate the nominee’s innovative and effective use of learning technologies.

All nominations must be submitted as a PDF to the Director of the Center for Teaching  Excellence and Learning.

All nominees will be invited to provide a portfolio that addresses how the candidate:

  • Aligns learning objectives with content, activities, and assessments
  • Promotes interaction and communication
  • Provides learner support and resources
  • Enhances student learning through pedagogically-effective uses of technology
  • Displays potential for use of technologies by other instructors
  • Demonstrates enthusiasm for teaching

The portfolio should include two additional letters of support from individuals familiar with the nominee’s teaching, relevant course syllabi, D2L sites, midterm and/or final course evaluations, student feedback, sample course materials, and documentation of online and in-class activities, if applicable. For those teaching technology-enhanced or blended courses, evidence of demonstrated effectiveness in the face-to-face environment should also be submitted. Finally, to assist the committee in its deliberations, the candidate should compose a reflection illustrating their pedagogical motivations, goals, and methods as well as how technology has enhanced the learning experience in the course(s) to be evaluated.

The Lazirko Award recipient will be recognized at the Fall Awards Ceremony hosted by the Chancellor and receive $1,500 in supplies and equipment.

Joanne Lazirko Award Recipients:

  • 2010 Bonnie Klein-Tasman, Psychology
  • 2011 Susan Stalewski, Clinical Lab Sciences, and Diane Reddy, Psychology
  • 2012 Rachel Baum, Jewish Studies
  • 2013 Christopher Willey, Art and Design
  • 2014 Les Johnson, Education
  • 2015 Benjamin Heinen, Criminal Justice